Atrius: I'm trying to fix the site, but it might take a while.

It seems the SQL database had grown larger than our hosting company allows.
I've cleaned out all of the unnecessary log data to get it down to an
acceptable size, but haven't received a response as to why normal
functionality hasn't been restored yet.


 Skipable parts of the game with basic hacking.
Golden Sun Hacking Community
July 19, 2018, 10:56:37 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Skipable parts of the game with basic hacking.  (Read 5701 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1758

« on: October 23, 2008, 06:36:00 PM »

Have you actually done this?
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
weckar
Guest
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2008, 06:42:00 PM »

Yes I have. The ones I am not sure about were ones I thought of as possibilites later. Most of it was achieved by letting early weapons and armour bestow utility psynergies. Since this negates the need for the grindstone, the eastern sea, shaman village and most of the rocks are out.

Only later I realised I could have a monster drop the magma ball as loot, eliminating magma rock completely. The reason I did JL anyway was because I wanted to try some stuff with the secondary party, but going over it, I wouldn't have had to.
Logged
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1758

« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2008, 07:16:00 PM »

Cool, you could beat the game without Isaac's party ever joining yours.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
weckar
Guest
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2008, 07:21:00 PM »

They will appear in cutscenes though. In GS1 the Kolima scenario was handled both with and without Mia, but even fixing Briggs' boat without Piers will bring him along for the cutscene.

EDIT: Only reason any of Gondowan is mandatory, is because you need Piers to get his boat.
Logged
weckar
Guest
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2008, 05:39:00 AM »

Basic hacking in this case: altering enemies and items, what we can do now using the program.

-Kandorean Temple
-Shrine of the Sea God
-Most of Dehkan Plateau
-Most of Yampi Desert
-Air's Rock (YAY)
-Most of Kibombo Mountains
-Practically the entire Eastern Sea
-All of Hesperia and Atteka (not sure about Atteka, can't remember if you  need the wings to reach prox)
-(I'm pretty sure) Magma Rock
-Most of Mars Lighthouse

Yes you can finish the game without ever entering Jupiter Lighthouse
 
Logged
MaxiPower
Feed Me Coins!!
Venus Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 685

« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2008, 11:47:00 AM »

with the walk through walls code + world map code. i had the Lemurian ship and on the open sea before i even got Piers however the game crashes when you get a battle on the boat without Piers.

using the same code i went straight to Prox lol.

 
Logged
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1758

« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2008, 02:43:00 PM »

That's weird...  I used a save file after I already had the boat, and hacked Piers out of my party without it crashing like that.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
MaxiPower
Feed Me Coins!!
Venus Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 685

« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2008, 09:24:00 PM »

hmm strange, i dont know for sure but on maybe three separate occasions it happened.

2 of them it it froze on first contact but the other crashed after a battle so maybe it was the enemy that set it of or just unlucky.

this isn't important however if you can do it without problems  
Logged
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2008, 06:41:00 AM »

I just thought of something...

You can skip when Isaac and them join, right?

So what happens if you get all the djinn that would have gone to isaac's team?  That's what, 2 extra djinn for Felix's crew for each party member?

What all can you pull off with that?

Edit:  Wait, if you don't enter a password, that's THREE.
Logged

View Profile WWW
MaxiPower
Feed Me Coins!!
Venus Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 685

« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2008, 01:42:00 PM »

I just thought of something...

You can skip when Isaac and them join, right?

So what happens if you get all the djinn that would have gone to isaac's team?  That's what, 2 extra djinn for Felix's crew for each party member?

What all can you pull off with that?

Edit:  Wait, if you don't enter a password, that's THREE.
hmm it would problary just reset to the normal set of djinn

however any volunteers for putting in that nasty password... ohhh the nightmares of that dreaded gold password haunts me. espcically if you make a mistake
Logged
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2008, 03:54:00 AM »

Nonono, I mean, SKIP getting the team.  Instead, DO NOT ENTER the password.  That way, you have the extra djinn popping up that wouldn't be there after the password (if you got them all in GS1).  Then...

Using Felix's party...

Get all the Djinn you'd have normally gotten AFTER Isaac's party joins.  Only, they're not there to join you.  And as such... You get the djinn they'd have gotten.  Basically, you'd do the same thing you did, putting utility psys on simple items.  Then just get as many djinn as possible, WITHOUT getting Isaac's group.

I don't think it'd reset the amount, but rather, you may be able to pull of djinn combos that you'd not normally be able to do (Piers as Ronin, perhaps?).  I wanna know if it'd work though, or if the game would freeze up or something.

 
Logged

View Profile WWW
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1758

« Reply #11 on: December 16, 2008, 12:22:00 AM »

Since I had a little free time, I did a little testing.

The Djinn menu outside of battle only handles up to 10 Djinn on a person properly.  If you have any more than that the list can become glitchy, and even lock up when you try to exit it.

The in-battle menu for Djinn has no problems at all handling any number of Djinn.  I even hacked ALL of the Djinn in the game (That's 80 total including the 2 dummy Djinn for each element) on to Felix, and the only problem was some minor glitching with the page numbering at the top of the panel.


I had some problems with it thinking Djinn were recovering (Like they are after you use them to summon) when they weren't, but I'm not sure if it was just a glitch or because I altered the Djinn data in memory incorrectly.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #12 on: December 16, 2008, 04:48:00 AM »

Ah, that answers my question.  I was wondering if the game could handle it.
Logged

View Profile WWW
MaxiPower
Feed Me Coins!!
Venus Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 685

« Reply #13 on: December 16, 2008, 03:05:00 PM »

ahh yes. i do remember getting all the djinn using an Action Replay device.. if i recall correctly the djinn menu like Atrius was screwed but they worked perfect ingame
Logged
View Profile
weckar
Guest
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2008, 12:50:00 AM »

Well, good to know. I will probably make a quick game playthrough featuring this, even  
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Yesterday at 10:49:52 PM
roger: I can post but it goes to an error page when I submit.
Yesterday at 05:24:12 PM
zman9000: Site is back WOO!
May 09, 2018, 12:35:37 AM
KyleRunner: The "Start In" field is not editable... I'll try making new shortcuts
May 08, 2018, 09:51:08 PM
Fox: If all else fails, you canmake new Shortcuts to do the same thing.
May 08, 2018, 09:49:53 PM
Fox: Export Properties > Shortcut (Tab) > Target / Start In ; Target (for Export) should be: (filename) 0 , and for Import: (filename) 1
May 08, 2018, 08:52:00 PM
KyleRunner: I can't change the path in properties menu...
May 08, 2018, 01:27:19 AM
Fox: You may need to edit something in properties, though... so it uses the exe file in the same directory.
May 08, 2018, 01:24:59 AM
Fox: It is suppose to be a shortcut, yes.
May 03, 2018, 11:48:05 PM
KyleRunner: Fox, the "export" function in your text editor is just a shortcut... Could you please fix it?
May 02, 2018, 09:53:45 PM
KyleRunner: I come here everyday. I'm working on a Portuguese translation, and the people here help me a lot.
May 02, 2018, 08:56:07 AM
Drake baku: My feel as well, I posted a little as well since my return, but silence was all that followed... At least the forum is a great source for data when hacking GS/ GS2, currently looking for something I have read a long time ago cause my PP recovery psy is not working
May 01, 2018, 09:58:04 AM
Fox: I am thinking a lot of this might be because of Discord?
May 01, 2018, 09:56:08 AM
Fox: Yeah, this forum is more dead than ever before.  February and April have 0 new topics. (All other months prior have more.) And March has lowest number of new posts. (It'd be dumb to count the very first month this site was created.)
April 25, 2018, 09:02:13 PM
Fox: Yes. The best tool is a hex editor. Well.... VBA, VBA-SDL-H, no$gba Debugger, GBATEK, and my documentation.... to use these to learn how the code/data works. Best method because it maximizes your editing ability... and then there is my program gsmagic that I was working on. Still in its early stages, though. (Even after year(s).)
April 25, 2018, 04:21:58 PM
Xendrox D: *exept tla editor.
April 25, 2018, 04:21:29 PM
Xendrox D: is there any other tool for hacking gs?
April 23, 2018, 09:26:27 PM
Atrius: Rarely, but not never.
April 23, 2018, 08:01:48 AM
Drake baku: Can it be, the god who created the editor, atrius. I heard you never came back online here anymore
April 20, 2018, 02:46:36 PM
KyleRunner: Atrius!!
April 19, 2018, 11:29:46 PM
Atrius: @Fox, I tried, but for some reason Mario Golf won't boot, and Mario Tennis crashes when you patch out the text compression, and I'm not sure why...  The normal text loading functions in them are basically the same as the ones in the Golden Sun games.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.069 seconds with 29 queries.