Golden Sun Hacking Community
January 18, 2018, 01:42:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Golden Sun: The Lost Age Editor V0.4 Released  (Read 21097 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
ScottTheAdept
Legendary Fire Starter
Mars Clan

Playing with fire DOES burn ... everyone else.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Skeptical
Clan Position: Knight Errant
Posts: 71

« Reply #15 on: July 01, 2011, 07:05:29 PM »

I have no intention of being a nuisance, but is using a fresh rom to hack mandatory? Because as i said in error reports, if you open a rom that has already been edited before with v0.3, with the v0.4 editor and fiddle with it, if you attempt afterwards to open said rom in VBA, it decides to give you a black screen. I apologize if it is only happening to me and i am just spouting personal issues.
Logged

Here come the holidays. Shopping gets hectic round these times.
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« Reply #16 on: July 01, 2011, 07:08:54 PM »

1.- It doesn't open the files when the extensions is in caps: .GBA

The shortcut to the editor problem has been frustrating me for a long time...

[Version 0.4 Fix 1]  I've also replaced the regular v0.4 link with the fixed version, to verify if have the latest version check the  "Help" > "About" section of the editor, the version should read "Version 0.4 fix 1"

Contains bug fixes:
- Fails to open some ROM files with no error message displayed

2.- when i go to patch it says that only in the english version but i have the english version :S

Does it just say English version?  It should say "english version of The Lost Age" meaning they also don't work for the original Golden Sun.


I have no intention of being a nuisance, but is using a fresh rom to hack mandatory? Because as i said in error reports, if you open a rom that has already been edited before with v0.3, with the v0.4 editor and fiddle with it, if you attempt afterwards to open said rom in VBA, it decides to give you a black screen. I apologize if it is only happening to me and i am just spouting personal issues.

Only to create patch files.  Also, as I said in error reports, post a patch there of your hack because that's not supposed to happen.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2011, 07:12:36 PM by Atrius » Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
ScottTheAdept
Legendary Fire Starter
Mars Clan

Playing with fire DOES burn ... everyone else.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Skeptical
Clan Position: Knight Errant
Posts: 71

« Reply #17 on: July 01, 2011, 07:15:10 PM »

Alright. I want it down as soon as you get it though k? It is in the alpha stages and terribly needs to be revised.
Logged

Here come the holidays. Shopping gets hectic round these times.
View Profile
Spook
Molecule Man

I'm that one guy. You know the one.

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: Kind of amazing.
Posts: 11

« Reply #18 on: July 01, 2011, 07:30:02 PM »

Oh wow, this is great! Keep up the good work Atrius!
Logged

SHAZAM
View Profile
ScottTheAdept
Legendary Fire Starter
Mars Clan

Playing with fire DOES burn ... everyone else.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Skeptical
Clan Position: Knight Errant
Posts: 71

« Reply #19 on: July 01, 2011, 07:45:07 PM »

I dunno if it was supposed to be there but it's now in the downloads section. If it's not supposed to be there, it should be removed. (Heck remove it anyway.)
Logged

Here come the holidays. Shopping gets hectic round these times.
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« Reply #20 on: July 01, 2011, 07:53:37 PM »

I suppose "Error Reports thread" and "Downloads section" do sound kind of similar, thanks for making my job more difficult.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
ScottTheAdept
Legendary Fire Starter
Mars Clan

Playing with fire DOES burn ... everyone else.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Skeptical
Clan Position: Knight Errant
Posts: 71

« Reply #21 on: July 01, 2011, 07:55:52 PM »

Ah sorry. I dont really know how to post a patch on a post...
Logged

Here come the holidays. Shopping gets hectic round these times.
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Online Online

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2403

« Reply #22 on: July 01, 2011, 08:06:57 PM »

Certainly there is a fifth Shop Type...

081080D0 = I found assembly here that compares the values.. the compare with "04" would be the fifth Shop type.. this is assembly code read when going to artifacts in-game.

Also, I found the the ROM Shop Type value..

0810C4FA (for Daila's Item Shop) = All numbers ABOVE 04 do not have artifacts.

03 and 04 seem to act as a General Shop, only, the intro-dialogue is different making it sound more like a Weapons Shop.

I kind of wonder if there is more to it then that... I will be testing it further.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2011, 08:11:42 PM by Teawater » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« Reply #23 on: July 01, 2011, 08:18:32 PM »

That code does the exact same thing if the value is set to 4 as it does when the value is 3...
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Online Online

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2403

« Reply #24 on: July 01, 2011, 08:26:00 PM »

That part of the code is to show that it does use 04, not that it is any different.

Either way.

00 = Items Shop - Sells Item artifacts
01 = Weapons Shop - Sells only weapon artifacts.
02 = Armor Shop - Sells armor artifacts
03 = General Shop with dialogue that Ïf you need it, we got it." -Sells all artifacts
04 = General Shop(?) with dialogue of "Weapons Shop" - Sells all artifacts
05 = Like 04, but sells no artifacts. (Might not be a shop type.)
06 = " and so on.
Anyway, that code is for artifacts, I'm just saying it is what got me into checking the fifth shop type, so the use between 03 and 04 will include the same artifacts.

EDIT: Whoops, fixed numbering.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2011, 08:47:38 PM by Teawater » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« Reply #25 on: July 01, 2011, 09:56:59 PM »

[Version 0.4 Fix 2]  I've also replaced the regular v0.4 link with the fixed version, to verify if you have the latest version check the  "Help" > "About" section of the editor, the version should read "Version 0.4 fix 2"

Contains bug fixes:
- Some edited ROMs only display a black screen when run
- Attempts to fix "Cannot locate string" errors when run through a shortcut


If you were experiencing the black screen problem you can repair your ROM by editing any character's innate psynergy (Even though you may not have done so before experiencing the error).  Using the arrow buttons to the right of the innate psynergy list to change the order, and saving will suffice.  You can switch the order back afterwards, as long as you save inbetween.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
Mastermind
trans queers for satan

she/they

Regular Member
**

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: meh
Posts: 132

« Reply #26 on: July 01, 2011, 11:42:59 PM »

Great job Atrius, this one came out much sooner than I expected.
Logged
View Profile
Charon
On Probation
Veteran Member
*

Coins: 11
Offline Offline

Emblems: GBA Music Expert
Clan Position: Trickster Goddess of Luna
Posts: 1758

« Reply #27 on: July 02, 2011, 01:52:51 AM »

This is great news, Atrius! A pretty quick release, too.
Logged
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #28 on: July 02, 2011, 01:58:20 AM »

Sooner than expected?  He said he'd do it by the end of June, after missing his previous two deadlines...
Logged

View Profile WWW
Charon
On Probation
Veteran Member
*

Coins: 11
Offline Offline

Emblems: GBA Music Expert
Clan Position: Trickster Goddess of Luna
Posts: 1758

« Reply #29 on: July 02, 2011, 02:00:54 AM »

Well, its better than his last update, which was over a year and a half.
Logged
View Profile
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Yesterday at 04:07:51 PM
KyleRunner: :D
January 16, 2018, 08:44:56 PM
Fox: I must say... life can be complicated..... when you have question(s) (via email) ... and it seems like they sort of get ignored. :D ; Fun, (And sometimes, a person may respond, and completely not answer the question.... so like... 3-person conversation.) Hahahaha!!
January 15, 2018, 07:26:16 PM
Fox: (path) 1 text=(address) char=(address) free=(address) ; << Well, closer to this... but yeah... even if I do choose to have defaults in the code, I could still use this method for overrides.
January 15, 2018, 07:24:28 PM
Fox: So like (path) 0 text=(address) char=(address) len=(number) ; (path) 1 free=(address) ; Or something. But that's just a quick example.
January 15, 2018, 06:59:14 PM
Fox: Hopefully. I was wanting to make it so you could put in the addresses/etc. as one of the arguments in the path. Hm?
January 15, 2018, 03:37:07 PM
KyleRunner: Nice! I hope you'll add compatibility with others games (GS1, Mario Golf and Tennis) soon.
January 14, 2018, 11:40:09 PM
Fox: Okay. Posted (in Downloads section) an initial cutdown version for now, for my text compressor. Basically to separate the code from my Editor for anyone who wants to mess with it. It only supports GS2, because I still didn't add the addresses/etc. for the other games.
January 14, 2018, 05:01:00 PM
Fox: Okay! Going to need to think how I want it to work. Initial thoughts is maybe have a number of arguments in the filepath thing. And have a number of shortcuts (files) to be used as examples. Assuming there are no problems.
January 14, 2018, 10:38:24 AM
KyleRunner: Well... I'm used to editing text ina a text editor, so... yes! Thanks in advance!
January 13, 2018, 11:38:43 PM
Fox: (Text editor = Text Document like notepad.)
January 13, 2018, 11:38:21 PM
Fox: Would you prefer during the text editing in a text editor? (Like what gstoolkit lets you do?) I could probably make a separate tool or something to compress it.
January 13, 2018, 10:10:02 PM
KyleRunner: Ok. Once I finish my Lost Age translation, I'll try a Mario Golf one. Thanks. (But I'll need help).
January 13, 2018, 10:03:17 PM
Fox: If you want to make it "permanent" (part of a hack), then you'd edit code in the ROM that writes to this location of the IDs you'd want to change. (You can find these locations by using a breakpoint debugger like SDL-H or no$gba.)
January 13, 2018, 10:00:11 PM
Fox: Reload/switch = Recommended to be done through Debug mode/warp menu, ofcourse... since doors seem to appear as if they were disabled? ; 03001238:01 and B+Start to get to warp menu.
January 13, 2018, 09:55:39 PM
Fox: @Kyle Runner = It might be, but you'd have to use the correct addresses for Mario Golf, rather than for GS2 as I have it right now. ; @raijinken = Yes. 02000454 = ID of leader. (Change this and reload/switch room you are in, enjoy.)
January 13, 2018, 02:23:29 PM
raijinken: Hey guys, is it possible to somehow change the lead character on the map? Was wondering. I remember there was a cheat to use Jenna, but what if I wanted Isaac, or Piers?
January 13, 2018, 02:10:03 PM
KyleRunner: Hey, Fox *
January 13, 2018, 02:09:37 PM
KyleRunner: Hey, is your text editor compatible with Mario Golf (GBA)?
January 11, 2018, 08:33:13 PM
Fox: But if it isn't an oversight, I still can't imagine it being that useful.
January 11, 2018, 08:28:24 PM
Fox: part, ofcourse.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.053 seconds with 21 queries.