Golden Sun Hacking Community
April 26, 2017, 11:15:41 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Golden Sun: The Lost Age Editor V0.4 Released  (Read 18730 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
ScottTheAdept
Legendary Fire Starter
Mars Clan

Playing with fire DOES burn ... everyone else.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Skeptical
Clan Position: Knight Errant
Posts: 71

« Reply #15 on: July 01, 2011, 07:05:29 PM »

I have no intention of being a nuisance, but is using a fresh rom to hack mandatory? Because as i said in error reports, if you open a rom that has already been edited before with v0.3, with the v0.4 editor and fiddle with it, if you attempt afterwards to open said rom in VBA, it decides to give you a black screen. I apologize if it is only happening to me and i am just spouting personal issues.
Logged

Here come the holidays. Shopping gets hectic round these times.
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1751

« Reply #16 on: July 01, 2011, 07:08:54 PM »

1.- It doesn't open the files when the extensions is in caps: .GBA

The shortcut to the editor problem has been frustrating me for a long time...

[Version 0.4 Fix 1]  I've also replaced the regular v0.4 link with the fixed version, to verify if have the latest version check the  "Help" > "About" section of the editor, the version should read "Version 0.4 fix 1"

Contains bug fixes:
- Fails to open some ROM files with no error message displayed

2.- when i go to patch it says that only in the english version but i have the english version :S

Does it just say English version?  It should say "english version of The Lost Age" meaning they also don't work for the original Golden Sun.


I have no intention of being a nuisance, but is using a fresh rom to hack mandatory? Because as i said in error reports, if you open a rom that has already been edited before with v0.3, with the v0.4 editor and fiddle with it, if you attempt afterwards to open said rom in VBA, it decides to give you a black screen. I apologize if it is only happening to me and i am just spouting personal issues.

Only to create patch files.  Also, as I said in error reports, post a patch there of your hack because that's not supposed to happen.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2011, 07:12:36 PM by Atrius » Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
ScottTheAdept
Legendary Fire Starter
Mars Clan

Playing with fire DOES burn ... everyone else.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Skeptical
Clan Position: Knight Errant
Posts: 71

« Reply #17 on: July 01, 2011, 07:15:10 PM »

Alright. I want it down as soon as you get it though k? It is in the alpha stages and terribly needs to be revised.
Logged

Here come the holidays. Shopping gets hectic round these times.
View Profile
Spook
Molecule Man

I'm that one guy. You know the one.

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: Kind of amazing.
Posts: 11

« Reply #18 on: July 01, 2011, 07:30:02 PM »

Oh wow, this is great! Keep up the good work Atrius!
Logged

SHAZAM
View Profile
ScottTheAdept
Legendary Fire Starter
Mars Clan

Playing with fire DOES burn ... everyone else.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Skeptical
Clan Position: Knight Errant
Posts: 71

« Reply #19 on: July 01, 2011, 07:45:07 PM »

I dunno if it was supposed to be there but it's now in the downloads section. If it's not supposed to be there, it should be removed. (Heck remove it anyway.)
Logged

Here come the holidays. Shopping gets hectic round these times.
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1751

« Reply #20 on: July 01, 2011, 07:53:37 PM »

I suppose "Error Reports thread" and "Downloads section" do sound kind of similar, thanks for making my job more difficult.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
ScottTheAdept
Legendary Fire Starter
Mars Clan

Playing with fire DOES burn ... everyone else.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Skeptical
Clan Position: Knight Errant
Posts: 71

« Reply #21 on: July 01, 2011, 07:55:52 PM »

Ah sorry. I dont really know how to post a patch on a post...
Logged

Here come the holidays. Shopping gets hectic round these times.
View Profile
Fox
(Your name), the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 17
Offline Offline

I am: You. (What's your name?)
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2234

« Reply #22 on: July 01, 2011, 08:06:57 PM »

Certainly there is a fifth Shop Type...

081080D0 = I found assembly here that compares the values.. the compare with "04" would be the fifth Shop type.. this is assembly code read when going to artifacts in-game.

Also, I found the the ROM Shop Type value..

0810C4FA (for Daila's Item Shop) = All numbers ABOVE 04 do not have artifacts.

03 and 04 seem to act as a General Shop, only, the intro-dialogue is different making it sound more like a Weapons Shop.

I kind of wonder if there is more to it then that... I will be testing it further.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2011, 08:11:42 PM by Teawater » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Isaac Isaac Isaac Isaac Mwahahaha!!!
Garet Aah! Get away from me Issac!
Isaac Why do you spell my name wrong?
Garet They said to add 's' if it's plural.
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1751

« Reply #23 on: July 01, 2011, 08:18:32 PM »

That code does the exact same thing if the value is set to 4 as it does when the value is 3...
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
Fox
(Your name), the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 17
Offline Offline

I am: You. (What's your name?)
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2234

« Reply #24 on: July 01, 2011, 08:26:00 PM »

That part of the code is to show that it does use 04, not that it is any different.

Either way.

00 = Items Shop - Sells Item artifacts
01 = Weapons Shop - Sells only weapon artifacts.
02 = Armor Shop - Sells armor artifacts
03 = General Shop with dialogue that Ïf you need it, we got it." -Sells all artifacts
04 = General Shop(?) with dialogue of "Weapons Shop" - Sells all artifacts
05 = Like 04, but sells no artifacts. (Might not be a shop type.)
06 = " and so on.
Anyway, that code is for artifacts, I'm just saying it is what got me into checking the fifth shop type, so the use between 03 and 04 will include the same artifacts.

EDIT: Whoops, fixed numbering.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2011, 08:47:38 PM by Teawater » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Isaac Isaac Isaac Isaac Mwahahaha!!!
Garet Aah! Get away from me Issac!
Isaac Why do you spell my name wrong?
Garet They said to add 's' if it's plural.
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1751

« Reply #25 on: July 01, 2011, 09:56:59 PM »

[Version 0.4 Fix 2]  I've also replaced the regular v0.4 link with the fixed version, to verify if you have the latest version check the  "Help" > "About" section of the editor, the version should read "Version 0.4 fix 2"

Contains bug fixes:
- Some edited ROMs only display a black screen when run
- Attempts to fix "Cannot locate string" errors when run through a shortcut


If you were experiencing the black screen problem you can repair your ROM by editing any character's innate psynergy (Even though you may not have done so before experiencing the error).  Using the arrow buttons to the right of the innate psynergy list to change the order, and saving will suffice.  You can switch the order back afterwards, as long as you save inbetween.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
Mastermind
trans queers for satan

she/they

Regular Member
**

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: meh
Posts: 132

« Reply #26 on: July 01, 2011, 11:42:59 PM »

Great job Atrius, this one came out much sooner than I expected.
Logged
View Profile
Charon
On Probation
Veteran Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Emblems: GBA Music Expert
Clan Position: Trickster Goddess of Luna
Posts: 1758

« Reply #27 on: July 02, 2011, 01:52:51 AM »

This is great news, Atrius! A pretty quick release, too.
Logged
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 4
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 5986

« Reply #28 on: July 02, 2011, 01:58:20 AM »

Sooner than expected?  He said he'd do it by the end of June, after missing his previous two deadlines...
Logged

View Profile WWW
Charon
On Probation
Veteran Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Emblems: GBA Music Expert
Clan Position: Trickster Goddess of Luna
Posts: 1758

« Reply #29 on: July 02, 2011, 02:00:54 AM »

Well, its better than his last update, which was over a year and a half.
Logged
View Profile
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Today at 10:07:39 PM
Lord Squirtle: But what I was thinking of doing with the unused effects was figuring out which ones are still available and combining them; averaging out the differences between each one so they make up for the ones that are missing.
Today at 10:05:36 PM
Lord Squirtle: I may consider moving the effects to the end of the effect list, since I moved the pointer table and added some empty space on the end. My main concern with that is that it would be far less user friendly.
Today at 08:06:20 PM
Fox: Heh... Starting to make me want to add the Ability Editor to my own Editor now... So I can do that, and have chance values listed for each and every one. (So it is more specific than Atrius's editor.)
Today at 08:03:06 PM
Fox: Well, 0-255.
Today at 08:02:53 PM
Fox: The max probably being 255.
Today at 08:00:09 PM
Fox: (@Editor modification: In which case, I would recommend adding support up to the maximum number for future purposes.... if at all reasonably possible.)
Today at 07:53:50 PM
Fox: @Disabling them: It kinda would be a trade-off for those who want to use those effects that went unused.... ...  I have a suggestion, though... and it might be rather interesting. But have you thought about using one of the unused flags to like... switch out Effect lists? (So you can have your own if you don't want to modify the editor.) I imagine it is rather unnecessary, though. Since it is easy enough to extend the list with a quick editor modification.
Today at 04:46:01 PM
Lord Squirtle: And elements too from the looks of things.
Today at 04:44:05 PM
Lord Squirtle: Makes me wonder how much work it would take to add more djinn slots.
Today at 04:30:45 PM
Lord Squirtle: Well, total - 1.
Today at 04:30:13 PM
Lord Squirtle: Huh, neat. I think I found the part of the djinn battle menu code that decides how many djinn of each element exist.
Today at 02:53:07 PM
Lord Squirtle: I should probably look into disabling the multiplier chance for those now that I think about it.
Today at 02:52:17 PM
Lord Squirtle: I still am, but mainly because it doesn't look like there are any abilities that use those effects.
Today at 12:48:53 PM
Fox: Given what they effects are, though... (When they are useful)... it might not hurt too much. but wondered if making a note of it would have been a good idea.
Today at 12:37:34 PM
Fox: Are you still using effects 39-41,43 ? Asking because http://forum.goldensunhacking.net/index.php?topic=2448.msg41739#msg41739 - Those effects are used for something else, and I wonder if you accommodated for that?
Today at 04:33:09 AM
Lord Squirtle: Will check this out tomorrow because I have no idea why it isn't being consistent with me.
Today at 04:26:16 AM
Lord Squirtle: AND IT TURNS OUT I MAY NOT HAVE FIXED ANYTHING. Huh.
Today at 03:00:14 AM
Lord Squirtle: Oh, um, apparently I have to double check one of the calculations I thought I fixed because it's giving me the correct value but negative.
Today at 02:45:58 AM
Lord Squirtle: Looks like I left in a bug with the debuffs wearing off early, so after I fix that I will upload a patch; I will likely not add AI checks until I make more progress on my AI reforms though.
Today at 02:41:37 AM
Lord Squirtle: Haha, wow I really botched one of the Intellect buff calculations! Nothing too major at least, it only resulted in a text bug. 

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.103 seconds with 22 queries.