Golden Sun Hacking Community
June 22, 2017, 11:51:07 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Golden Sun: The Lost Age Editor V0.4 Released  (Read 19302 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
ScottTheAdept
Legendary Fire Starter
Mars Clan

Playing with fire DOES burn ... everyone else.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Skeptical
Clan Position: Knight Errant
Posts: 71

« Reply #15 on: July 01, 2011, 07:05:29 PM »

I have no intention of being a nuisance, but is using a fresh rom to hack mandatory? Because as i said in error reports, if you open a rom that has already been edited before with v0.3, with the v0.4 editor and fiddle with it, if you attempt afterwards to open said rom in VBA, it decides to give you a black screen. I apologize if it is only happening to me and i am just spouting personal issues.
Logged

Here come the holidays. Shopping gets hectic round these times.
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1751

« Reply #16 on: July 01, 2011, 07:08:54 PM »

1.- It doesn't open the files when the extensions is in caps: .GBA

The shortcut to the editor problem has been frustrating me for a long time...

[Version 0.4 Fix 1]  I've also replaced the regular v0.4 link with the fixed version, to verify if have the latest version check the  "Help" > "About" section of the editor, the version should read "Version 0.4 fix 1"

Contains bug fixes:
- Fails to open some ROM files with no error message displayed

2.- when i go to patch it says that only in the english version but i have the english version :S

Does it just say English version?  It should say "english version of The Lost Age" meaning they also don't work for the original Golden Sun.


I have no intention of being a nuisance, but is using a fresh rom to hack mandatory? Because as i said in error reports, if you open a rom that has already been edited before with v0.3, with the v0.4 editor and fiddle with it, if you attempt afterwards to open said rom in VBA, it decides to give you a black screen. I apologize if it is only happening to me and i am just spouting personal issues.

Only to create patch files.  Also, as I said in error reports, post a patch there of your hack because that's not supposed to happen.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2011, 07:12:36 PM by Atrius » Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
ScottTheAdept
Legendary Fire Starter
Mars Clan

Playing with fire DOES burn ... everyone else.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Skeptical
Clan Position: Knight Errant
Posts: 71

« Reply #17 on: July 01, 2011, 07:15:10 PM »

Alright. I want it down as soon as you get it though k? It is in the alpha stages and terribly needs to be revised.
Logged

Here come the holidays. Shopping gets hectic round these times.
View Profile
Spook
Molecule Man

I'm that one guy. You know the one.

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: Kind of amazing.
Posts: 11

« Reply #18 on: July 01, 2011, 07:30:02 PM »

Oh wow, this is great! Keep up the good work Atrius!
Logged

SHAZAM
View Profile
ScottTheAdept
Legendary Fire Starter
Mars Clan

Playing with fire DOES burn ... everyone else.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Skeptical
Clan Position: Knight Errant
Posts: 71

« Reply #19 on: July 01, 2011, 07:45:07 PM »

I dunno if it was supposed to be there but it's now in the downloads section. If it's not supposed to be there, it should be removed. (Heck remove it anyway.)
Logged

Here come the holidays. Shopping gets hectic round these times.
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1751

« Reply #20 on: July 01, 2011, 07:53:37 PM »

I suppose "Error Reports thread" and "Downloads section" do sound kind of similar, thanks for making my job more difficult.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
ScottTheAdept
Legendary Fire Starter
Mars Clan

Playing with fire DOES burn ... everyone else.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Skeptical
Clan Position: Knight Errant
Posts: 71

« Reply #21 on: July 01, 2011, 07:55:52 PM »

Ah sorry. I dont really know how to post a patch on a post...
Logged

Here come the holidays. Shopping gets hectic round these times.
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 25
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2304

« Reply #22 on: July 01, 2011, 08:06:57 PM »

Certainly there is a fifth Shop Type...

081080D0 = I found assembly here that compares the values.. the compare with "04" would be the fifth Shop type.. this is assembly code read when going to artifacts in-game.

Also, I found the the ROM Shop Type value..

0810C4FA (for Daila's Item Shop) = All numbers ABOVE 04 do not have artifacts.

03 and 04 seem to act as a General Shop, only, the intro-dialogue is different making it sound more like a Weapons Shop.

I kind of wonder if there is more to it then that... I will be testing it further.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2011, 08:11:42 PM by Teawater » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1751

« Reply #23 on: July 01, 2011, 08:18:32 PM »

That code does the exact same thing if the value is set to 4 as it does when the value is 3...
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 25
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2304

« Reply #24 on: July 01, 2011, 08:26:00 PM »

That part of the code is to show that it does use 04, not that it is any different.

Either way.

00 = Items Shop - Sells Item artifacts
01 = Weapons Shop - Sells only weapon artifacts.
02 = Armor Shop - Sells armor artifacts
03 = General Shop with dialogue that Ïf you need it, we got it." -Sells all artifacts
04 = General Shop(?) with dialogue of "Weapons Shop" - Sells all artifacts
05 = Like 04, but sells no artifacts. (Might not be a shop type.)
06 = " and so on.
Anyway, that code is for artifacts, I'm just saying it is what got me into checking the fifth shop type, so the use between 03 and 04 will include the same artifacts.

EDIT: Whoops, fixed numbering.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2011, 08:47:38 PM by Teawater » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1751

« Reply #25 on: July 01, 2011, 09:56:59 PM »

[Version 0.4 Fix 2]  I've also replaced the regular v0.4 link with the fixed version, to verify if you have the latest version check the  "Help" > "About" section of the editor, the version should read "Version 0.4 fix 2"

Contains bug fixes:
- Some edited ROMs only display a black screen when run
- Attempts to fix "Cannot locate string" errors when run through a shortcut


If you were experiencing the black screen problem you can repair your ROM by editing any character's innate psynergy (Even though you may not have done so before experiencing the error).  Using the arrow buttons to the right of the innate psynergy list to change the order, and saving will suffice.  You can switch the order back afterwards, as long as you save inbetween.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
Mastermind
trans queers for satan

she/they

Regular Member
**

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: meh
Posts: 132

« Reply #26 on: July 01, 2011, 11:42:59 PM »

Great job Atrius, this one came out much sooner than I expected.
Logged
View Profile
Charon
On Probation
Veteran Member
*

Coins: 8
Offline Offline

Emblems: GBA Music Expert
Clan Position: Trickster Goddess of Luna
Posts: 1758

« Reply #27 on: July 02, 2011, 01:52:51 AM »

This is great news, Atrius! A pretty quick release, too.
Logged
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 9
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6017

« Reply #28 on: July 02, 2011, 01:58:20 AM »

Sooner than expected?  He said he'd do it by the end of June, after missing his previous two deadlines...
Logged

View Profile WWW
Charon
On Probation
Veteran Member
*

Coins: 8
Offline Offline

Emblems: GBA Music Expert
Clan Position: Trickster Goddess of Luna
Posts: 1758

« Reply #29 on: July 02, 2011, 02:00:54 AM »

Well, its better than his last update, which was over a year and a half.
Logged
View Profile
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Today at 08:57:37 PM
Fox: @conundrum = Think about 8/16/32 bit aligned address, and what that means... Etc.
Today at 08:55:23 PM
Fox: @Space manager thought for gsmagic = What a conundrum... Whelp... I'll just do whatever.... Probably would waste more time thinking about preventing bugs than coding anyway. :P
Yesterday at 09:30:34 AM
Fox: Because he quit a long time ago and has other priorities?
Yesterday at 08:35:54 AM
javi3: Atrius, por que no sigues con el editor de golden sun?
June 20, 2017, 10:52:48 AM
Fox: It feels like the safest bet is to do Atrius's repointering system, and have something that organizes the tables done a bit separate... er... Well, it's something to think about.
June 20, 2017, 08:53:41 AM
Fox: HOWEVER... I can see other problems that might cause..... (Even with just the pointer in the MFT)  Meh. It's like you actually need a program to apply patches to do it appropriately.
June 20, 2017, 08:46:38 AM
Fox: ... So... What am I thinking? You ask? That the patches the point data after MFT, should have had pointers in the MFT themselves.... In that case, I can see a possibility of everything working smoothly even if space is needed to the very end of the ROM.
June 20, 2017, 08:37:22 AM
Fox: It's basically that everthink from the point of  editing, to the closest free space to the last entry's address would get repointed forward/backwards depending on space needed... and if space is mapped after patches are added, then that could mean the patches are also repointed. (:o)
June 20, 2017, 08:29:03 AM
Fox: Well, I mean if I map the space out the same way Atrius did it.
June 20, 2017, 08:26:41 AM
Fox: I have a hunch... when I add Map Palette editing the way I'm thinking about... it will cause all patches that repoint to after the MFT to break.... Especially if Atrius's editor wasn't used beforehand. Etc.
June 20, 2017, 07:27:17 AM
Fox: Hmmm... Let's see... regardless of method, I think I still do want to take some of Atrius's Space Manager code... Hmm.....
June 20, 2017, 07:07:27 AM
Fox: say*
June 20, 2017, 07:07:19 AM
Fox: I'd go so far as to see.. even if you are trying to be accurate, there could still be inaccuracies... However, that one was just an example where it was clearly intentional.
June 20, 2017, 07:04:03 AM
Fox: Like*
June 20, 2017, 07:03:55 AM
Fox: Let that one time where they tried to clip a guy out... To put it as short and vague as possible.
June 20, 2017, 06:58:52 AM
Fox: But in case you do watch it... I do know the story on TV that they tell... is not always accurate to what actually happened... (From what one can find out from the feed.) ... but usually the fansites will let you know about that.
June 20, 2017, 06:37:54 AM
Fox: Depends, as each person may have a different opinion... (I'm thinking you might find it like other "reality" shows..)  ... I'm not really into Survivor at current.... I also question if it was something about Julie Chen that made it a little more interesting.... .being the an iconic host that she is.. Weird.
June 19, 2017, 11:57:31 PM
Dendrophiliafish_the_skull_licker_xxXXDx101XyeahbabyyeahxxXX: Honest opinion but is it any good or is it just like all other "reality" television?
June 19, 2017, 11:57:00 PM
Dendrophiliafish_the_skull_licker_xxXXDx101XyeahbabyyeahxxXX: I have a friend who is obsessed with that show and Survivor and he wants me to watch with him.
June 19, 2017, 07:47:18 PM
Fox: So.. as soon as I saw the cast of BB19, I wanted to try to pick my favs on first impression... And I'm curious about these: Elena Davies (Female pick, maybe.) and Kevin Schlehuber (Male pick, maybe. - He's the oldest.) ... whether they even get close to the end or not... I have no idea. Would have to watch them play the game.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.092 seconds with 21 queries.