Golden Sun Hacking Community
April 26, 2017, 11:17:13 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Golden Sun The Lost Age Editor Open Sourced (Dev alpha v0.5 download inside)  (Read 34378 times)
0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 4
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 5986

« Reply #15 on: February 27, 2012, 06:53:01 PM »

Doesn't work if you have your roms sorted, though.  I have a base rom folder, one for experiement A, one for experiement B, one for general testing, one for templates, and one where I put the hacks you guys make.  I don't have any hacks in the same folder as the editor itself - they're all subfolders, so it's not quite as easy to do.
Logged

View Profile WWW
Lord Squirtle
His Sexiness
Mercury Clan

Oh yeah, baby!

Prodigy
*

Coins: 26
Online Online

I am: A part of the organization of Cool Cats, but more of a dog person in reality.
Emblems: Have a nice day.
Posts: 4500

« Reply #16 on: February 27, 2012, 08:08:09 PM »

I sort of have mine sorted the same way, but individual hacks have their own folders, status ailment/buff hacks in another, classes in their own, Dark Dawn... Etc. I just copy+paste one when I want to edit it, and it works out nicely in case an unknown glitch in the editor messes it up.
Logged

And the Wise One is a Mary Sue!

Hey there! I see you over there, looking at me... Wanna come over for a Milk Drink? ;)
Fusion is just a cheap tactic to make weak Adepts stronger.
Yoshi's Lighthouse is a hacking website in progress. Why not check it out if you like Yoshi or the Mario & Luigi games?
View Profile WWW
MaxiPower
Feed Me Coins!!
Venus Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 683

« Reply #17 on: February 27, 2012, 09:26:25 PM »

sometimes when i import sprites it wont allow me to save, tried changing the compression but no luck... any ideas?
Logged
View Profile
Misery
Bad Luck

Great Member
***

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Clan Position: Mercury Hack Leader
Posts: 705

« Reply #18 on: February 27, 2012, 09:36:56 PM »

Well... it wouldn't be an alpha if everything worked, right?
Logged
View Profile
MaxiPower
Feed Me Coins!!
Venus Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 683

« Reply #19 on: February 27, 2012, 09:44:01 PM »

Well... it wouldn't be an alpha if everything worked, right?

Touché but is there a varible that allows for some images to be imported whilst others not...?
Logged
View Profile
Misery
Bad Luck

Great Member
***

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Clan Position: Mercury Hack Leader
Posts: 705

« Reply #20 on: February 27, 2012, 09:54:20 PM »

If you're talking about image formats, there are most likely some unsupported ones...
In that case, just convert them to a format that works.
Logged
View Profile
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2626

« Reply #21 on: February 28, 2012, 04:37:04 PM »

Kay, for some reason I can't use any of the sprite editing tools at all. The icons for them are there, and the drop-down for tools is there, except that the drop-down actually doesn't drop down when clicked, and the tool icons are just that: icons. They don't do anything when clicked. Not for any of the sprites I've tried.

Edit: Nevermind, then. WHY are all those icons there in the first place if all you do is double-click the sprite?

Edit2: Actually, about the thing earlier with V0.5 not opening unmodified ROMs. I modified the ROM I was using before, and it still wouldn't open.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2012, 06:00:33 PM by JamietheFlameUser » Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1751

« Reply #22 on: February 29, 2012, 03:29:22 AM »

@Editor not opening files, I have no idea why that would be happening, I'll look into it.

@Buttons not working:
Quote
What does this "Developer Alpha Version" nonsense mean?

This is the in-development version of the editor, it contains features that haven't been completed or fully tested.  No guarantee is made about it's level of polish, or stability.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2626

« Reply #23 on: February 29, 2012, 03:32:09 AM »

Yeah, yeah, I know. No need to get sarcastic.
Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Kioll
Pyromancer

I'm a Mars Adept! You know, red hair, bad temper?

Regular Member
**

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 155

« Reply #24 on: February 29, 2012, 05:19:04 PM »

From what I've been doing as of late, I've determined that the program's a bit temperamental on that.  Sometimes I can use the open feature to open a ROM (base or not), and sometimes I can't.  Also, when you use drag and drop, there's a small error that runs.  I'm not sure what the error is, but to my knowledge, it doesn't effect anything important.
Logged

I am the almighty emissary of fire...  the Mars Adept Kioll.  Oh, and did I mention that I'll see you long before you see me?
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 4
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 5986

« Reply #25 on: February 29, 2012, 06:31:35 PM »

So why are you guys looking to atrius?  The thing's open source now.
Logged

View Profile WWW
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2626

« Reply #26 on: February 29, 2012, 07:58:30 PM »

It seems to depend on the ROM. Also, when using the drag-and-drop function, I get a string of errors that eventually starts looping infinitely. Someone who knows GML should go fix it if possible.
Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Takumi
The Former Leader of Mercury
Mercury Clan

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: meditating in water.
Clan Position: Master Healer of Mercury
Posts: 228

« Reply #27 on: March 10, 2012, 08:06:38 AM »

@Role, seems this is still a bug reporting area for those that know how to fix it to gather stuff to fix. That's my logic at least. I'm not too skilled in the program coding department, but i'll take a look and see if i can fix anything.
Logged

Anything I post here is solely my opinion, and is not proven fact, unless I specify otherwise.

If I say anything that offends you, grow a set.
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 4
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 5986

« Reply #28 on: March 10, 2012, 09:21:12 AM »

Um, Frozen, what I'm saying is that people now have the ability to take these bugs on themselves, so we shouldn't be just leaving it to atrius.
Logged

View Profile WWW
Takumi
The Former Leader of Mercury
Mercury Clan

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: meditating in water.
Clan Position: Master Healer of Mercury
Posts: 228

« Reply #29 on: March 10, 2012, 09:39:17 AM »

I know, but I think people are using this to post their bugs so that other people who know how to do it can fix it.
Logged

Anything I post here is solely my opinion, and is not proven fact, unless I specify otherwise.

If I say anything that offends you, grow a set.
View Profile
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Today at 10:07:39 PM
Lord Squirtle: But what I was thinking of doing with the unused effects was figuring out which ones are still available and combining them; averaging out the differences between each one so they make up for the ones that are missing.
Today at 10:05:36 PM
Lord Squirtle: I may consider moving the effects to the end of the effect list, since I moved the pointer table and added some empty space on the end. My main concern with that is that it would be far less user friendly.
Today at 08:06:20 PM
Fox: Heh... Starting to make me want to add the Ability Editor to my own Editor now... So I can do that, and have chance values listed for each and every one. (So it is more specific than Atrius's editor.)
Today at 08:03:06 PM
Fox: Well, 0-255.
Today at 08:02:53 PM
Fox: The max probably being 255.
Today at 08:00:09 PM
Fox: (@Editor modification: In which case, I would recommend adding support up to the maximum number for future purposes.... if at all reasonably possible.)
Today at 07:53:50 PM
Fox: @Disabling them: It kinda would be a trade-off for those who want to use those effects that went unused.... ...  I have a suggestion, though... and it might be rather interesting. But have you thought about using one of the unused flags to like... switch out Effect lists? (So you can have your own if you don't want to modify the editor.) I imagine it is rather unnecessary, though. Since it is easy enough to extend the list with a quick editor modification.
Today at 04:46:01 PM
Lord Squirtle: And elements too from the looks of things.
Today at 04:44:05 PM
Lord Squirtle: Makes me wonder how much work it would take to add more djinn slots.
Today at 04:30:45 PM
Lord Squirtle: Well, total - 1.
Today at 04:30:13 PM
Lord Squirtle: Huh, neat. I think I found the part of the djinn battle menu code that decides how many djinn of each element exist.
Today at 02:53:07 PM
Lord Squirtle: I should probably look into disabling the multiplier chance for those now that I think about it.
Today at 02:52:17 PM
Lord Squirtle: I still am, but mainly because it doesn't look like there are any abilities that use those effects.
Today at 12:48:53 PM
Fox: Given what they effects are, though... (When they are useful)... it might not hurt too much. but wondered if making a note of it would have been a good idea.
Today at 12:37:34 PM
Fox: Are you still using effects 39-41,43 ? Asking because http://forum.goldensunhacking.net/index.php?topic=2448.msg41739#msg41739 - Those effects are used for something else, and I wonder if you accommodated for that?
Today at 04:33:09 AM
Lord Squirtle: Will check this out tomorrow because I have no idea why it isn't being consistent with me.
Today at 04:26:16 AM
Lord Squirtle: AND IT TURNS OUT I MAY NOT HAVE FIXED ANYTHING. Huh.
Today at 03:00:14 AM
Lord Squirtle: Oh, um, apparently I have to double check one of the calculations I thought I fixed because it's giving me the correct value but negative.
Today at 02:45:58 AM
Lord Squirtle: Looks like I left in a bug with the debuffs wearing off early, so after I fix that I will upload a patch; I will likely not add AI checks until I make more progress on my AI reforms though.
Today at 02:41:37 AM
Lord Squirtle: Haha, wow I really botched one of the Intellect buff calculations! Nothing too major at least, it only resulted in a text bug. 

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.087 seconds with 21 queries.