Golden Sun Hacking Community
January 17, 2018, 08:51:34 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Golden Sun The Lost Age Editor Open Sourced (Dev alpha v0.5 download inside)  (Read 39207 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #15 on: February 27, 2012, 06:53:01 PM »

Doesn't work if you have your roms sorted, though.  I have a base rom folder, one for experiement A, one for experiement B, one for general testing, one for templates, and one where I put the hacks you guys make.  I don't have any hacks in the same folder as the editor itself - they're all subfolders, so it's not quite as easy to do.
Logged

View Profile WWW
Salanewt
His Sexiness
Mercury Clan

Oh yeah, baby!

Prodigy
*

Coins: 32
Offline Offline

I am: A part of the organization of Cool Cats, but more of a dog person in reality.
Emblems: Have a nice day.
Posts: 4565

« Reply #16 on: February 27, 2012, 08:08:09 PM »

I sort of have mine sorted the same way, but individual hacks have their own folders, status ailment/buff hacks in another, classes in their own, Dark Dawn... Etc. I just copy+paste one when I want to edit it, and it works out nicely in case an unknown glitch in the editor messes it up.
Logged

Oh yeah baby, £ me harder.

Fusion is just a cheap tactic to make weak Adepts stronger.

Yoshi's Lighthouse is a hacking website in progress. Why not check it out if you like Yoshi or the Mario & Luigi games?
View Profile WWW
MaxiPower
Feed Me Coins!!
Venus Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 684

« Reply #17 on: February 27, 2012, 09:26:25 PM »

sometimes when i import sprites it wont allow me to save, tried changing the compression but no luck... any ideas?
Logged
View Profile
Misery
Bad Luck

Great Member
***

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Clan Position: Mercury Hack Leader
Posts: 709

« Reply #18 on: February 27, 2012, 09:36:56 PM »

Well... it wouldn't be an alpha if everything worked, right?
Logged
View Profile
MaxiPower
Feed Me Coins!!
Venus Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 684

« Reply #19 on: February 27, 2012, 09:44:01 PM »

Well... it wouldn't be an alpha if everything worked, right?

Touché but is there a varible that allows for some images to be imported whilst others not...?
Logged
View Profile
Misery
Bad Luck

Great Member
***

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Clan Position: Mercury Hack Leader
Posts: 709

« Reply #20 on: February 27, 2012, 09:54:20 PM »

If you're talking about image formats, there are most likely some unsupported ones...
In that case, just convert them to a format that works.
Logged
View Profile
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2633

« Reply #21 on: February 28, 2012, 04:37:04 PM »

Kay, for some reason I can't use any of the sprite editing tools at all. The icons for them are there, and the drop-down for tools is there, except that the drop-down actually doesn't drop down when clicked, and the tool icons are just that: icons. They don't do anything when clicked. Not for any of the sprites I've tried.

Edit: Nevermind, then. WHY are all those icons there in the first place if all you do is double-click the sprite?

Edit2: Actually, about the thing earlier with V0.5 not opening unmodified ROMs. I modified the ROM I was using before, and it still wouldn't open.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2012, 06:00:33 PM by JamietheFlameUser » Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« Reply #22 on: February 29, 2012, 03:29:22 AM »

@Editor not opening files, I have no idea why that would be happening, I'll look into it.

@Buttons not working:
Quote
What does this "Developer Alpha Version" nonsense mean?

This is the in-development version of the editor, it contains features that haven't been completed or fully tested.  No guarantee is made about it's level of polish, or stability.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2633

« Reply #23 on: February 29, 2012, 03:32:09 AM »

Yeah, yeah, I know. No need to get sarcastic.
Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Kioll
Pyromancer

I'm a Mars Adept! You know, red hair, bad temper?

Regular Member
**

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 155

« Reply #24 on: February 29, 2012, 05:19:04 PM »

From what I've been doing as of late, I've determined that the program's a bit temperamental on that.  Sometimes I can use the open feature to open a ROM (base or not), and sometimes I can't.  Also, when you use drag and drop, there's a small error that runs.  I'm not sure what the error is, but to my knowledge, it doesn't effect anything important.
Logged

I am the almighty emissary of fire...  the Mars Adept Kioll.  Oh, and did I mention that I'll see you long before you see me?
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #25 on: February 29, 2012, 06:31:35 PM »

So why are you guys looking to atrius?  The thing's open source now.
Logged

View Profile WWW
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2633

« Reply #26 on: February 29, 2012, 07:58:30 PM »

It seems to depend on the ROM. Also, when using the drag-and-drop function, I get a string of errors that eventually starts looping infinitely. Someone who knows GML should go fix it if possible.
Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Crystal Sonata
Mercury's Badass Bitch
Mercury Clan

Regular Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Clan Position: Master Healer of Mercury
Posts: 229

« Reply #27 on: March 10, 2012, 08:06:38 AM »

@Role, seems this is still a bug reporting area for those that know how to fix it to gather stuff to fix. That's my logic at least. I'm not too skilled in the program coding department, but i'll take a look and see if i can fix anything.
Logged

Anything I post here is solely my opinion, and is not proven fact, unless I specify otherwise.

If I say anything that offends you, grow a set.
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #28 on: March 10, 2012, 09:21:12 AM »

Um, Frozen, what I'm saying is that people now have the ability to take these bugs on themselves, so we shouldn't be just leaving it to atrius.
Logged

View Profile WWW
Crystal Sonata
Mercury's Badass Bitch
Mercury Clan

Regular Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Clan Position: Master Healer of Mercury
Posts: 229

« Reply #29 on: March 10, 2012, 09:39:17 AM »

I know, but I think people are using this to post their bugs so that other people who know how to do it can fix it.
Logged

Anything I post here is solely my opinion, and is not proven fact, unless I specify otherwise.

If I say anything that offends you, grow a set.
View Profile
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Yesterday at 08:44:56 PM
Fox: I must say... life can be complicated..... when you have question(s) (via email) ... and it seems like they sort of get ignored. :D ; Fun, (And sometimes, a person may respond, and completely not answer the question.... so like... 3-person conversation.) Hahahaha!!
January 15, 2018, 07:26:16 PM
Fox: (path) 1 text=(address) char=(address) free=(address) ; << Well, closer to this... but yeah... even if I do choose to have defaults in the code, I could still use this method for overrides.
January 15, 2018, 07:24:28 PM
Fox: So like (path) 0 text=(address) char=(address) len=(number) ; (path) 1 free=(address) ; Or something. But that's just a quick example.
January 15, 2018, 06:59:14 PM
Fox: Hopefully. I was wanting to make it so you could put in the addresses/etc. as one of the arguments in the path. Hm?
January 15, 2018, 03:37:07 PM
KyleRunner: Nice! I hope you'll add compatibility with others games (GS1, Mario Golf and Tennis) soon.
January 14, 2018, 11:40:09 PM
Fox: Okay. Posted (in Downloads section) an initial cutdown version for now, for my text compressor. Basically to separate the code from my Editor for anyone who wants to mess with it. It only supports GS2, because I still didn't add the addresses/etc. for the other games.
January 14, 2018, 05:01:00 PM
Fox: Okay! Going to need to think how I want it to work. Initial thoughts is maybe have a number of arguments in the filepath thing. And have a number of shortcuts (files) to be used as examples. Assuming there are no problems.
January 14, 2018, 10:38:24 AM
KyleRunner: Well... I'm used to editing text ina a text editor, so... yes! Thanks in advance!
January 13, 2018, 11:38:43 PM
Fox: (Text editor = Text Document like notepad.)
January 13, 2018, 11:38:21 PM
Fox: Would you prefer during the text editing in a text editor? (Like what gstoolkit lets you do?) I could probably make a separate tool or something to compress it.
January 13, 2018, 10:10:02 PM
KyleRunner: Ok. Once I finish my Lost Age translation, I'll try a Mario Golf one. Thanks. (But I'll need help).
January 13, 2018, 10:03:17 PM
Fox: If you want to make it "permanent" (part of a hack), then you'd edit code in the ROM that writes to this location of the IDs you'd want to change. (You can find these locations by using a breakpoint debugger like SDL-H or no$gba.)
January 13, 2018, 10:00:11 PM
Fox: Reload/switch = Recommended to be done through Debug mode/warp menu, ofcourse... since doors seem to appear as if they were disabled? ; 03001238:01 and B+Start to get to warp menu.
January 13, 2018, 09:55:39 PM
Fox: @Kyle Runner = It might be, but you'd have to use the correct addresses for Mario Golf, rather than for GS2 as I have it right now. ; @raijinken = Yes. 02000454 = ID of leader. (Change this and reload/switch room you are in, enjoy.)
January 13, 2018, 02:23:29 PM
raijinken: Hey guys, is it possible to somehow change the lead character on the map? Was wondering. I remember there was a cheat to use Jenna, but what if I wanted Isaac, or Piers?
January 13, 2018, 02:10:03 PM
KyleRunner: Hey, Fox *
January 13, 2018, 02:09:37 PM
KyleRunner: Hey, is your text editor compatible with Mario Golf (GBA)?
January 11, 2018, 08:33:13 PM
Fox: But if it isn't an oversight, I still can't imagine it being that useful.
January 11, 2018, 08:28:24 PM
Fox: part, ofcourse.
January 11, 2018, 08:28:15 PM
Fox: 0200274C = Hmm... Stuff happens here when you use Cyclone around bushes. (These cause tile replacements, and setting event 0 to those tiles.) - And I guess this kept here so it can be scanned after battle. (To re-update the map.) So here is my fun thought (assuming if it is even possible, or even convenient if so.) ... Are there any events from other maps that could be disabled do to using Cyclone on bushes + Retreat glitch? I'll need to do some testing to make sure this isn't an oversight on my

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.068 seconds with 21 queries.