Golden Sun Hacking Community
May 24, 2017, 06:03:42 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Golden Sun The Lost Age Editor Open Sourced (Dev alpha v0.5 download inside)  (Read 34917 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 4
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 5994

« Reply #15 on: February 27, 2012, 06:53:01 PM »

Doesn't work if you have your roms sorted, though.  I have a base rom folder, one for experiement A, one for experiement B, one for general testing, one for templates, and one where I put the hacks you guys make.  I don't have any hacks in the same folder as the editor itself - they're all subfolders, so it's not quite as easy to do.
Logged

View Profile WWW
Lord Squirtle
His Sexiness
Mercury Clan

Oh yeah, baby!

Prodigy
*

Coins: 26
Offline Offline

I am: A part of the organization of Cool Cats, but more of a dog person in reality.
Emblems: Have a nice day.
Posts: 4520

« Reply #16 on: February 27, 2012, 08:08:09 PM »

I sort of have mine sorted the same way, but individual hacks have their own folders, status ailment/buff hacks in another, classes in their own, Dark Dawn... Etc. I just copy+paste one when I want to edit it, and it works out nicely in case an unknown glitch in the editor messes it up.
Logged

And the Wise One is a Mary Sue!

Hey there! I see you over there, looking at me... Wanna come over for a Milk Drink? ;)
Fusion is just a cheap tactic to make weak Adepts stronger.
Yoshi's Lighthouse is a hacking website in progress. Why not check it out if you like Yoshi or the Mario & Luigi games?
View Profile WWW
MaxiPower
Feed Me Coins!!
Venus Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 683

« Reply #17 on: February 27, 2012, 09:26:25 PM »

sometimes when i import sprites it wont allow me to save, tried changing the compression but no luck... any ideas?
Logged
View Profile
Misery
Bad Luck

Great Member
***

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Clan Position: Mercury Hack Leader
Posts: 708

« Reply #18 on: February 27, 2012, 09:36:56 PM »

Well... it wouldn't be an alpha if everything worked, right?
Logged
View Profile
MaxiPower
Feed Me Coins!!
Venus Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 683

« Reply #19 on: February 27, 2012, 09:44:01 PM »

Well... it wouldn't be an alpha if everything worked, right?

Touché but is there a varible that allows for some images to be imported whilst others not...?
Logged
View Profile
Misery
Bad Luck

Great Member
***

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Clan Position: Mercury Hack Leader
Posts: 708

« Reply #20 on: February 27, 2012, 09:54:20 PM »

If you're talking about image formats, there are most likely some unsupported ones...
In that case, just convert them to a format that works.
Logged
View Profile
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2626

« Reply #21 on: February 28, 2012, 04:37:04 PM »

Kay, for some reason I can't use any of the sprite editing tools at all. The icons for them are there, and the drop-down for tools is there, except that the drop-down actually doesn't drop down when clicked, and the tool icons are just that: icons. They don't do anything when clicked. Not for any of the sprites I've tried.

Edit: Nevermind, then. WHY are all those icons there in the first place if all you do is double-click the sprite?

Edit2: Actually, about the thing earlier with V0.5 not opening unmodified ROMs. I modified the ROM I was using before, and it still wouldn't open.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2012, 06:00:33 PM by JamietheFlameUser » Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1751

« Reply #22 on: February 29, 2012, 03:29:22 AM »

@Editor not opening files, I have no idea why that would be happening, I'll look into it.

@Buttons not working:
Quote
What does this "Developer Alpha Version" nonsense mean?

This is the in-development version of the editor, it contains features that haven't been completed or fully tested.  No guarantee is made about it's level of polish, or stability.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2626

« Reply #23 on: February 29, 2012, 03:32:09 AM »

Yeah, yeah, I know. No need to get sarcastic.
Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Kioll
Pyromancer

I'm a Mars Adept! You know, red hair, bad temper?

Regular Member
**

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 155

« Reply #24 on: February 29, 2012, 05:19:04 PM »

From what I've been doing as of late, I've determined that the program's a bit temperamental on that.  Sometimes I can use the open feature to open a ROM (base or not), and sometimes I can't.  Also, when you use drag and drop, there's a small error that runs.  I'm not sure what the error is, but to my knowledge, it doesn't effect anything important.
Logged

I am the almighty emissary of fire...  the Mars Adept Kioll.  Oh, and did I mention that I'll see you long before you see me?
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 4
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 5994

« Reply #25 on: February 29, 2012, 06:31:35 PM »

So why are you guys looking to atrius?  The thing's open source now.
Logged

View Profile WWW
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2626

« Reply #26 on: February 29, 2012, 07:58:30 PM »

It seems to depend on the ROM. Also, when using the drag-and-drop function, I get a string of errors that eventually starts looping infinitely. Someone who knows GML should go fix it if possible.
Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Takumi
The Former Leader of Mercury
Mercury Clan

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: meditating in water.
Clan Position: Master Healer of Mercury
Posts: 228

« Reply #27 on: March 10, 2012, 08:06:38 AM »

@Role, seems this is still a bug reporting area for those that know how to fix it to gather stuff to fix. That's my logic at least. I'm not too skilled in the program coding department, but i'll take a look and see if i can fix anything.
Logged

Anything I post here is solely my opinion, and is not proven fact, unless I specify otherwise.

If I say anything that offends you, grow a set.
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 4
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 5994

« Reply #28 on: March 10, 2012, 09:21:12 AM »

Um, Frozen, what I'm saying is that people now have the ability to take these bugs on themselves, so we shouldn't be just leaving it to atrius.
Logged

View Profile WWW
Takumi
The Former Leader of Mercury
Mercury Clan

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: meditating in water.
Clan Position: Master Healer of Mercury
Posts: 228

« Reply #29 on: March 10, 2012, 09:39:17 AM »

I know, but I think people are using this to post their bugs so that other people who know how to do it can fix it.
Logged

Anything I post here is solely my opinion, and is not proven fact, unless I specify otherwise.

If I say anything that offends you, grow a set.
View Profile
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Yesterday at 04:52:18 PM
Fox: Easier in the idea that I can reduce required external stuff where the source code isn't available/modifyable (Well, there is overrides in some cases, but still.) ; So it's possible the only "Events" I would require are those of the Form.... (Mouse Events, Keyboard Events, Paint Events, Etc. when needed.)
Yesterday at 04:42:14 PM
Fox: Anyway... I know I am using built-in controls in my current editor, but it is not out-of-the-question that I might just go and make my own custom controls... so that it is actually easier for me (But that'd take a lot of work.)  I'm thinking about one large bitmap object, and just drawing them on it. Problem is, I'm afraid it might not be efficient enough.  So I haven't decided about doing it.)
Yesterday at 04:33:28 PM
Fox: @XML = If I recall, I believe Visual Studio uses it for Settings Variables that remain even after you close the program. (e.g. There's one variable I have in my program that I call "LastRom" to make it easier to get back into the program.)
Yesterday at 04:17:59 PM
Fox: XML/JSON are simple = They are just a way to store data outside the application... ... The complexity is comparable to learning about data trees, I'd say... XML = Looks like HTML  ; JSON = Think Lists and Dictionaries, and nested ones.
Yesterday at 03:51:19 PM
Luna_blade: @the whole static thing: I recently came across the problem that if you use design patterns, objects of the same class might get duplicate info. Sometimes this is very little information, so it seems better to use something class-wide than making a file
Yesterday at 03:47:41 PM
Luna_blade: another thought I had is that I already made some code better...
Yesterday at 03:45:59 PM
Luna_blade: Sure I will open-source it on github once I rewrite it to be more maintainainable. Now that I think about it, I should put some other stuff there as well
Yesterday at 03:44:54 PM
Luna_blade: Yeah I made some code and screens for it in Java. The last thing I was busy working on was the grid for the values and the selection shape.
Yesterday at 03:41:22 PM
Luna_blade: I will learn a bit of JSON and XML soon. I guess those are pretty good replacements for what I meant with static
Yesterday at 03:40:42 PM
Luna_blade: It's an okay article. I prefer reading the java implementations on tutorialpoint
Yesterday at 12:07:19 PM
Fox: article*
Yesterday at 12:07:06 PM
Fox: Oh yes, there's a whole artice on design patterns at wikipedia? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Software_design_pattern
Yesterday at 07:20:37 AM
Fox: Oh yes.... Just checked.... Program.cs has "Application.Run(new Form1());" ... AND.... Program.cs is a STATIC class, so my hunch is confirmed. (In a way.)
Yesterday at 07:12:43 AM
Fox: So... I'm assuming that it is like a tree, and your top level file should be the static class, with all the other object classes linked from it? (Like a tree?) - Wonder how the Dessigner treats Forms. (How are Form objects linked to a static class, if at all?)
Yesterday at 07:00:51 AM
Fox: (Since I can have incredibly bad wording sometimes :P)
Yesterday at 06:59:50 AM
Fox: (Well, started "?" was more implying whether you made any public releases yet....
Yesterday at 06:59:02 AM
Fox: Wait? You started a Hed Editor? Curious if you were going to open-source it....
Yesterday at 06:55:16 AM
Fox: Using xml or json has also come to mind as a method to replace language.ini file and to store table addresses.... but I haven't thought much about that, so....
Yesterday at 06:54:24 AM
Fox: @static object = Huh? Well, I do know that it's useful for global stuff... at least. But I'm curious about when to know if a function should be down globally or through another object....  For example, I could make me rom buffer be put in a global file, since we're likely to only have one opened at a time, for almost the duration of the app, but then when we consider possible advances in the application like having two opened at one time (Such as GS1 and GS2 to transfer pieces of data), then...?
Yesterday at 06:30:49 AM
Luna_blade: And then every strategy should have some 'static' object that tells how the specific strategy should generally look.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.108 seconds with 21 queries.