Atrius: I'm trying to fix the site, but it might take a while.

It seems the SQL database had grown larger than our hosting company allows.
I've cleaned out all of the unnecessary log data to get it down to an
acceptable size, but haven't received a response as to why normal
functionality hasn't been restored yet.


 GS: Dark Dawn (U) Data List (WIP)
Golden Sun Hacking Community
July 19, 2018, 09:45:09 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: GS: Dark Dawn (U) Data List (WIP)  (Read 5361 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2411

« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2012, 10:32:21 PM »

Quote
Probably each unleash has the same chance of happening after all, given that their quantity are written in the data.
It is perfectly possible that it is with the unleashes themselves. I have not did any research into this, though. But I am assuming the Unleash offset/index just looks in another database for all the unleash-related data.
Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Kide
Mercury Clan

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 198

« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2012, 10:56:34 PM »

With unleashes themselves? But what would have happened in the case one weapon has unleash 'x' and another one has unleashes 'x' and 'y'? The first one wouldn't add 100%, right? Or would it be ... er... normalized?

Although, I don't know how the mechanics work for this subject. I mean, if it's one check for any unleash then another check for the specified one, or a single check for everything. So this is all pure speculation.
Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2411

« Reply #17 on: April 03, 2012, 12:09:59 AM »

When I was looking on the day I made this topic. I believe none of the offsets and # of unleashes overlapped...

So for example. In the unleashes database... you could have.

Item name (Number of unleashes ; Unleash offset)

Note: I messed up.. HOLD ON!

0001 - Long Sword (0002 ; 0000)    - Critical Strike
                                     Spin Strike
0002 - (0002 ; 0002)

0003 - (0002 ; 0004)

0004 - (0002 ; 0006)

0005 - Great Sword (0003 ; 0008)   - Critical Strike
                                     Spin Strike
                                     Fearless Attack
0006 - Shamshir    (0003 ; 000B)   - Power Charge
                                     Fearless Attack
                                     Acid Bath

I mean, this is practically the same as putting this data with the items themselves. Just think of this as a method of compression. So we don't have a lot of blank spots for unleashes in the Items database.  In other words, I'm saying that you may not have to change anything about how unleashes work in the current GS2 Items Editor.

Oh yeah, and it is probably recommended to keep the limit at 4 unleashes per item. (I think there are graphical issues if you have more?)

« Last Edit: April 03, 2012, 12:31:12 AM by questionableWater » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #18 on: April 03, 2012, 01:01:45 AM »

Wait, so theoretically, you could have more?  You'd just have to create a new gui/menu system to account for it?
Logged

View Profile WWW
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2411

« Reply #19 on: April 03, 2012, 03:05:54 AM »



I changed the number of unleashes to 6 in this image.  If this implies yes, then I guess so.  As you can see, 5+ go outside the box.

Edit: Oh yeah, ignore the fact that I'm using version 0.9.6, thank you.
Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Kide
Mercury Clan

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 198

« Reply #20 on: April 03, 2012, 03:29:43 AM »

Oh, I've just done the same thing right now! With critical strike appearing thrice too!

However, wouldn't the weapon skill meter over there be messed up with that many unleashes?

Quote
I believe none of the offsets and # of unleashes overlapped...
Yeah, they didn't. The thing is, I don't know if I understood you correctly at first when you said that "with the unleashes themselves" thing. I thought you meant that each unleash had it's own rate, instead of the weapon having it. So, if this is true, that would make the Great Sword unleash rate automatically higher than the Long Sword's. Unless there's some sort of normalization.
Logged
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #21 on: April 03, 2012, 04:57:40 AM »

Interesting.  This intrigues me...  I wonder if we could tweak it somehow so that at a certain weapon skill level, certain unleashes override previous ones, kinda like EPA upgrades at class up?  If we could do that as well, imagine the possibilities we could do...

I think the easiest way to expand the gui is to have a multi-page list, kinda like psynergy.  Once it expands past four, press L or R to toggle pages.
Logged

View Profile WWW
Kide
Mercury Clan

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 198

« Reply #22 on: April 04, 2012, 01:06:29 AM »

The last 4 bytes in the item data seem to be related to weapon skill level. Maybe it has something to do with a weapon's starting level?

Logged
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #23 on: May 15, 2017, 12:16:30 AM »

So, think we can have a general update on what we've found over the last half decade?  I know there's the link in your signature, but not all of us really understand how much of that is relevant info and how much of that isn't yet understood.
Logged

View Profile WWW
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2411

« Reply #24 on: May 18, 2017, 03:14:07 AM »

It would be pretty difficult to go over everything if I'm not keeping track of when I learned about each thing. But let's see here....

@Half decade = Before this year... not much.

However, this year does come with much more research:

I guess I can start with talking about overlay files first:
-Overlay files:
0x0 = General field stuff.
0x1-0x134 -ish... are map code files. (Not sure if that's true for all of those... but usually loaded to 0x021EE000 in (U) version.)- Learned that the ARM code portion seems to set up address locations for events (reminds me of the GBA games.) ... However, events in Dark Dawn are done differently then the GBA games... as they use a Command and Args system. (Well, the GBA games may have a command and args system to a small degree, but I think it was strictly limited to object script, such as movement and stuff. Where-as, for Dark Dawn, you have them to do warps, start battles, adding/removing PCs to your party, etc. - Both command/args systems tend to stick to using 32-bits, which does make it somewhat simple.)
0x14C = Shop code (Including tables for items sold in shops/etc.)
I'm assuming there are other Overlay files (e.g.  some before 0x14C, and up to 0x14F) that may have functionality similar to the Shop, but not Shop related. (A number of them are loaded at the same RAM address, anyway.) Maybe mini-games? I have not checked if this game has mini-games, but I shall...
0x151 = General battle stuff (Includes enemy table, enemy groups, damage formula stuff, etc.)
-The rest of them (Up to 0x16D) are currently unknown... but it wouldn't surprise me if one or more of them were for Ability Animations in battle. (Since those were hard-coded in the GBA games.... )

And ofcourse, the ARM9 boot file seems to have all the general stuff needed in both Field and Battle. It seems? (Party Data, Class Data, Items, Psynergy/Abilities,  Djinn, Summons, etc.) However, it also has the Room Table, and the table that assigns the room's music and the room's name....


---
Oh yes, while I may have spotted some debug and e3 related content... (Just from simply looking at rooms. And I did find the single/double/triple djinn battles as mentioned on the Discord....) ... I still have yet to access any debug menus like Warp or Flag.... No idea if this game has it, but I'm sure hoping so.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2017, 05:19:44 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Yesterday at 10:49:52 PM
roger: I can post but it goes to an error page when I submit.
Yesterday at 05:24:12 PM
zman9000: Site is back WOO!
May 09, 2018, 12:35:37 AM
KyleRunner: The "Start In" field is not editable... I'll try making new shortcuts
May 08, 2018, 09:51:08 PM
Fox: If all else fails, you canmake new Shortcuts to do the same thing.
May 08, 2018, 09:49:53 PM
Fox: Export Properties > Shortcut (Tab) > Target / Start In ; Target (for Export) should be: (filename) 0 , and for Import: (filename) 1
May 08, 2018, 08:52:00 PM
KyleRunner: I can't change the path in properties menu...
May 08, 2018, 01:27:19 AM
Fox: You may need to edit something in properties, though... so it uses the exe file in the same directory.
May 08, 2018, 01:24:59 AM
Fox: It is suppose to be a shortcut, yes.
May 03, 2018, 11:48:05 PM
KyleRunner: Fox, the "export" function in your text editor is just a shortcut... Could you please fix it?
May 02, 2018, 09:53:45 PM
KyleRunner: I come here everyday. I'm working on a Portuguese translation, and the people here help me a lot.
May 02, 2018, 08:56:07 AM
Drake baku: My feel as well, I posted a little as well since my return, but silence was all that followed... At least the forum is a great source for data when hacking GS/ GS2, currently looking for something I have read a long time ago cause my PP recovery psy is not working
May 01, 2018, 09:58:04 AM
Fox: I am thinking a lot of this might be because of Discord?
May 01, 2018, 09:56:08 AM
Fox: Yeah, this forum is more dead than ever before.  February and April have 0 new topics. (All other months prior have more.) And March has lowest number of new posts. (It'd be dumb to count the very first month this site was created.)
April 25, 2018, 09:02:13 PM
Fox: Yes. The best tool is a hex editor. Well.... VBA, VBA-SDL-H, no$gba Debugger, GBATEK, and my documentation.... to use these to learn how the code/data works. Best method because it maximizes your editing ability... and then there is my program gsmagic that I was working on. Still in its early stages, though. (Even after year(s).)
April 25, 2018, 04:21:58 PM
Xendrox D: *exept tla editor.
April 25, 2018, 04:21:29 PM
Xendrox D: is there any other tool for hacking gs?
April 23, 2018, 09:26:27 PM
Atrius: Rarely, but not never.
April 23, 2018, 08:01:48 AM
Drake baku: Can it be, the god who created the editor, atrius. I heard you never came back online here anymore
April 20, 2018, 02:46:36 PM
KyleRunner: Atrius!!
April 19, 2018, 11:29:46 PM
Atrius: @Fox, I tried, but for some reason Mario Golf won't boot, and Mario Tennis crashes when you patch out the text compression, and I'm not sure why...  The normal text loading functions in them are basically the same as the ones in the Golden Sun games.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.061 seconds with 29 queries.