Golden Sun Hacking Community
March 21, 2019, 05:33:05 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Golden Sun 1 Overworld Sprites Problem  (Read 4058 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

New User


Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8

« on: July 03, 2012, 05:43:41 PM »

Hello everybody.  I just got into ROM gaming a month ago, and I really think it's awesome.  I saw this one video on YouTube that allows you to run around the Overworld and stuff as different characters other than Issac.  I've really really really wanted to run around as Mia cause I like her and stuff, so how is that possible?  Here's the link to the video, but I don't understand how to get the sprites to work.  He says something about VBA codes, but I don't quite know how to enable those.  Here's the code list if anyone wants to see.  I have the Golden Sun TLA editor, but I don't think it has anything to do with changing your character.  I'm very inexperienced with hacking and computers, but I'd love to learn some things from the pros.   Happy
http://www.mitxela.com/atrius/GSCharacterCodeList.txt

http://youtu.be/PLffZyGEjj8

If anyone could help it'd be much appreciated.  I'm very happy to be here with you all, and I hope we can find a solution to my problem.   Mia
Logged
View Profile WWW
Misery
Bad Luck

Great Member
***

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Clan Position: Mercury Hack Leader
Posts: 710

« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2012, 06:05:54 PM »

Okay then, you're using the VisualBoy Advance emulator, right? That's what VBA codes means, it's just codes you enter in VBA. In the "Cheats" tab, you go to cheat list, and click the "Cheat..." button to bring up a window where you can enter the memory address (the left-most 8 digit number in that list) and what you want to change the value at that address to (the number at the right of the colon in the list). I think you need to have the right size checked too, 2-digit values are 8-bit, 4 digits are 16-bit and 8 digit 32-bit.

That should do it. I haven't tried it myself, though.
Logged
View Profile

New User


Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8

« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2012, 07:01:17 PM »

I am using the Visual Boy Emulator.  Alrighty, I understand what you're saying so far.  So I want to enter the number at the top of the list under character 3 (that's Mia's overworld Sprite).  What should I change the sizes to?  Just copy that top number down first, then what do I do?

Character 3
03002E00:0003  <-----THIS ONE, not the ones below right, or do I copy them all?  
03002E07:03
03002E08:081AC59C
03002E0C:08187D2C

I can't believe this is actually starting to make some sense!  I feel great!  So far so good, but we'll get this done!  I know it.  Thank you for your help so far.  

Edit:
Ok, I just checked it and it says stuff like address, value, and description.  Then is says size and number format.  What do I put in each of these out of the numbers I put above, and what size and number format do I click?  Once I know it'll all be good and hopefully this mystery will be solved.  I believe for the size it needs to be 32-bit but I don't know.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2012, 07:09:22 PM by Joalphski » Logged
View Profile WWW
Misery
Bad Luck

Great Member
***

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Clan Position: Mercury Hack Leader
Posts: 710

« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2012, 07:12:31 PM »

Oh, right. All numbers listed under the character you want to display should be entered individually. First as 16-bit, second as 8-bit, last two as 32-bit.
Logged
View Profile

New User


Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8

« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2012, 07:32:16 PM »

I am at a loss for words.  This is amazing.  I can't believe it actually worked.....  :D :D :D :D :D  Thank you so much!  I can't thank you enough for what you just did for me.  Thank you so much!  Time to go mess around!  Once more, thank you!  I never could have done it without you!

Oh wait, one problem.  It works in towns and dungeons, but not on the overworld map screen.  Hmmmmm, could I find the overworld screen code and enable it the same way I enabled this one or is it more complicated that that?  Anyway, at least I can go mess around in dungeons.  This'll be amazing.  Thank you!  If you find a way to get it to work on the Map Screen that'd be great. 
Logged
View Profile WWW
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1763

« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2012, 06:32:52 AM »

If I recall correctly there was a problem with the overworld codes, it edited a section in memory used while loading levels, and caused the game to lock up because of it or something like that.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW

New User


Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8

« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2012, 11:19:40 PM »

Oh great.  That's all I need now is lock up.  :/  Oh well.  The Dungeons and the Towns are where I'll spend all my time anyway, so I guess there's no problem with the overworld map stuff so long my game didn't lock up.  Still, thank you guys.  That helped out majorly.  One step closer to being better at computers.  Thanks a lot guys.  :P  

Edit:
No lock up.  All good.  :P   Mia  It's looking beautiful as ever. 
« Last Edit: July 05, 2012, 03:08:19 PM by Joalphski » Logged
View Profile WWW
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
March 04, 2019, 08:45:44 PM
Fox: Aw.  I kind of want to suggest dressing up in a banana costume.  No wait, that's a bad idea.
March 04, 2019, 04:24:10 AM
Average Wind Seer: *angry gorilla noises that roughly translates to "Stay the [redacted] off my island and don't touch my [redacted] bananas"*
March 04, 2019, 03:06:07 AM
Fox: Gosh. This is like playing whack-a-mole! What's taking you so long with the bananas?! :D
February 28, 2019, 10:20:28 PM
Fox: And that other guy I thought for sure I saw a moment ago.... maybe he left again.
February 28, 2019, 10:16:29 PM
Fox: :O Wha-? I guess you didn't bring an army? If you plan on bringing a bunch, I would have suggested recruiting more people. Like me.
February 28, 2019, 09:57:15 PM
Average Wind Seer: I just reached the Island, but I'm planning on getting as many bananas as I ca- OH GOD!!! OH NO HE'S GOT ME!!! SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!!! AAAAAAHHH!!! NO! NO! NOOOOOOOO-!! *angry gorilla noises are heard as audio fades to static*
February 28, 2019, 09:13:45 PM
Fox: Huh. I didn't know you like going on adventures, that sounds interesting. How many bananas are you bringing?
February 28, 2019, 02:32:28 AM
Average Wind Seer: a brilliant plan. I'll go get the bananas from that seemingly uninhabited island with a large sign with the letters "D.K." written on it
February 28, 2019, 02:19:23 AM
Fox: I have an idea. If it turns out they love bananas, we can get some more as bait to keep them here?
February 27, 2019, 03:00:14 AM
Average Wind Seer: They consumed so much of the banana that only the essence of the peel remained TT^TT
February 27, 2019, 02:17:50 AM
FoxYou don't see it in the trash can over there?  Maybe that was someone else's.  .... Wait, Essence of Banana Peel?
February 27, 2019, 12:06:56 AM
Average Wind Seer: nope, that's just Essence of Banana Peel that they left behind :(
February 26, 2019, 11:39:52 PM
Fox: That's unfortunate.  I think they left the peeling for you.  :/
February 23, 2019, 05:18:08 AM
Average Wind Seer: .... yes.... I was gonna eat that banana....
February 23, 2019, 02:47:39 AM
Fox: steal*
February 23, 2019, 02:47:31 AM
Fox: Did they still your banana?
February 22, 2019, 02:32:19 AM
Average Wind Seer: hecc my ba- oh snap there they go :/
February 21, 2019, 10:14:10 PM
Fox: Shh... Don't scare them away.
February 21, 2019, 07:20:30 AM
Average Wind Seer: shocking, isn't it
February 21, 2019, 07:06:58 AM
Luna_blade: holy moley 4 users online

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.095 seconds with 22 queries.