Atrius: I'm trying to fix the site, but it might take a while.

It seems the SQL database had grown larger than our hosting company allows.
I've cleaned out all of the unnecessary log data to get it down to an
acceptable size, but haven't received a response as to why normal
functionality hasn't been restored yet.


 Making text editor.
Golden Sun Hacking Community
July 19, 2018, 09:53:32 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Making text editor.  (Read 37827 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Lord Wolfram
The Lone Wolf
Mars Clan

I am the Angel of darkness and I am back.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: fine!
Posts: 316

« Reply #15 on: July 04, 2014, 05:30:17 PM »

I can't get VB.NET
Dam'n!
Tell me Fox(Teawater) why not gamemaker?
Using java...How?
Can you please make data handler for me Please!

Anybody! Help me giving more some advice!
Logged
View Profile WWW
Luna_blade
The last member of the Luna clan
Luna Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: Timeless. As in, i don't have much free time.
Posts: 533

« Reply #16 on: July 04, 2014, 05:42:16 PM »

I can't get VB.NET
Dam'n!
Tell me Fox(Teawater) why not gamemaker?
Using java...How?
Can you please make data handler for me Please!

Anybody! Help me giving more some advice!
Oh yeah I forgot the real VB.NET (or visual studio) is hella overpriced.

Again, I think you should look for existing documentation.
Logged

++++++++++[>+++++++>++++++++++>+++>+<<<<-]>++.>+.+++++++..+++.>++.<<+++++++++++++++.>.+++.------.--------.>+.>.
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2411

« Reply #17 on: July 05, 2014, 02:34:46 AM »

Some reasons why I don't like Game Maker:

-Atrius's editor has a high CPU usage, which is unnecessary.
-All of your controls have to be made from scratch. VB.Net/Java/etc. has some built-in controls that may make the process easier. (Think textbox, combo-box, numerics, etc.)
-Atrius needed to use a DLL to do I/O loading, and I think it'd be better to have a stand-alone executable if that's all you'd need a DLL for.
-Navigation in the creation program may be more of a pain.


The overpriced version of Visual Studio can be gotten for free.. if you look for the product key off site somewhere... but the latest VS does require W8, I think. so it might not be much use to you right now. You can still do Visual Basic Express, though. (Which is 100% legally free.)

@Java: You need two things... JDK and an IDE: @IDE: Either Eclipse or NetBeans if you want the popular Java IDEs.

(Although, I'm not sure if Eclipse has the JDK already built-in to it or not, but... hm...)

Happy U.S. Independence Day!
« Last Edit: July 05, 2014, 02:57:17 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Luna_blade
The last member of the Luna clan
Luna Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: Timeless. As in, i don't have much free time.
Posts: 533

« Reply #18 on: July 05, 2014, 08:28:52 AM »

Quote from: Fox
The overpriced version of Visual Studio can be gotten for free.. if you look for the product key off site somewhere... but the latest VS does require W8, I think. so it might not be much use to you right now. You can still do Visual Basic Express, though. (Which is 100% legally free.)
Oh I'm also almost sure that the newest requires Windows 8. Maybe a 64bit windows 7 also works?
Anyway, I used VS2012 like 3 years ago for a short while. But since starting again I have used 2008, which works fine on Windows XP. I didn't know 'bout product keys yet Um...
Logged

++++++++++[>+++++++>++++++++++>+++>+<<<<-]>++.>+.+++++++..+++.>++.<<+++++++++++++++.>.+++.------.--------.>+.>.
View Profile
Lord Wolfram
The Lone Wolf
Mars Clan

I am the Angel of darkness and I am back.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: fine!
Posts: 316

« Reply #19 on: July 05, 2014, 04:07:07 PM »

Something is wrong with any version of VB.net
To the hell with it! Fury
                          Saturos

@Fox. So in other words to translate that game I don't need datahandler.
Happy U.S. Independence Day!
Happy! I will calibrate with you!

I look forward to get some staff for Java then...
Logged
View Profile WWW
FrozenWrath
The Decieved
Mercury Clan

Let's rock!

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: the embodiment of hatred and anger, the Frozen Wrath!
Posts: 50

« Reply #20 on: July 05, 2014, 07:29:10 PM »

You're not a computer, Saturos.

You're a Proxian. So celebrate with us!
Logged
View Profile
Lord Wolfram
The Lone Wolf
Mars Clan

I am the Angel of darkness and I am back.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: fine!
Posts: 316

« Reply #21 on: July 06, 2014, 07:02:26 AM »

You're not a computer, Saturos.

You're a Proxian. So celebrate with us!
Hahaha!
Thank you Scarlet!
By reading this my mood has become better.
What a terible morning for me it was.
Hahaha
 Happy   Happy   Happy Happy
 Saturos Menardi AgatioKarst
Logged
View Profile WWW
Luna_blade
The last member of the Luna clan
Luna Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: Timeless. As in, i don't have much free time.
Posts: 533

« Reply #22 on: July 06, 2014, 08:34:45 AM »

And you're absolutely sure you installed the right .NET Framework?
Otherwise, I don't have a clue what the problem is and then it might indeed be more usefull to switch to Java.
 Happy
:Babi:
 Um...
:Luna_blade:
If it only would have worked...
Logged

++++++++++[>+++++++>++++++++++>+++>+<<<<-]>++.>+.+++++++..+++.>++.<<+++++++++++++++.>.+++.------.--------.>+.>.
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2411

« Reply #23 on: July 06, 2014, 09:48:09 AM »

Quote
And you're absolutely sure you installed the right .NET Framework?
By the way, which one was it again? Almost forgot that that was the problem... So thanks for mentioning.

@Swithcing to Java: How would it be more 'useful'? Are you referring to multi-platformness, or something else?


Quote
@Fox. So in other words to translate that game I don't need datahandler.
Correct. A DLL is a Dynamic Link Library... Basically, it's like storing functions/code in an external file. I think they're useful for when you want to code in multiple languages. But I don't think you'll be needing it. (Unless you are trying to learn to code.)

Having DLLs may also be useful if you have many programs that use the same functions. (I think) Since it may save space, assuming programs cannot easily access code in other programs. ; However, I doubt that applies to us right now.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2014, 10:09:54 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Lord Wolfram
The Lone Wolf
Mars Clan

I am the Angel of darkness and I am back.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: fine!
Posts: 316

« Reply #24 on: July 06, 2014, 05:47:06 PM »

I will dawnload JDK real soon.
Once I get it how will I use this(For What purpose?)?

And IDE...
For what will I use it?
Logged
View Profile WWW
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2411

« Reply #25 on: July 06, 2014, 06:03:48 PM »

JDK = Java Development Kit - I'm guessing it's the compiler, or something. (Read http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Java_Development_Kit for contents.)  I know it has to be downloaded separately if you use NetBeans, but I'm not sure about if you use Eclipse.
IDE = Integrated Development Environment - This is the program you code in.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2014, 06:06:32 PM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Luna_blade
The last member of the Luna clan
Luna Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: Timeless. As in, i don't have much free time.
Posts: 533

« Reply #26 on: July 06, 2014, 08:31:57 PM »

By the way, which one was it again? Almost forgot that that was the problem... So thanks for mentioning.

@Swithcing to Java: How would it be more 'useful'? Are you referring to multi-platformness, or something else?
VS 2008 supports 3.5 and later 4.0 I think...
More usefull because he fails to use VS... I guess a bad choice of words there.
Correct. A DLL is a Dynamic Link Library... Basically, it's like storing functions/code in an external file. I think they're useful for when you want to code in multiple languages. But I don't think you'll be needing it. (Unless you are trying to learn to code.)

Having DLLs may also be useful if you have many programs that use the same functions. (I think) Since it may save space, assuming programs cannot easily access code in other programs. ; However, I doubt that applies to us right now.
I forgot DLLs in .Net Framework are actually multi-language. I'd love to have a little discussion about why and how DLLs...

@Saturos: Good luck.
Logged

++++++++++[>+++++++>++++++++++>+++>+<<<<-]>++.>+.+++++++..+++.>++.<<+++++++++++++++.>.+++.------.--------.>+.>.
View Profile
Lord Wolfram
The Lone Wolf
Mars Clan

I am the Angel of darkness and I am back.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: fine!
Posts: 316

« Reply #27 on: July 07, 2014, 10:41:26 AM »

Which kit you suggest?which is needed?
I can't download too much because of limits of internet...


* Help me!.bmp (2304.05 KB, 1024x768 - viewed 340 times.)
« Last Edit: July 07, 2014, 06:20:37 PM by Saturos » Logged
View Profile WWW
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2411

« Reply #28 on: July 08, 2014, 05:48:26 AM »

Java SE might be the one you're interested in.

I think SE means Standard Edition, and EE means Enterprise Edition.

Not sure of the main differences between the two at the moment, but it seems like EE does web applications...

Mouse over the plus signs on the left if it helps.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2014, 05:52:39 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Lord Wolfram
The Lone Wolf
Mars Clan

I am the Angel of darkness and I am back.

Regular Member
*

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: fine!
Posts: 316

« Reply #29 on: July 08, 2014, 01:56:31 PM »

Alright downloading SE.
Downloading in process Um... Um... Um... Fury Irate Idea hmm while it is loading I am thinking.
I downloaded this JDK file Name (jdk1.8.0_05) Question is this correct file? or I must look for other?
I have to wait 6 minutes...I hate to wait sometimes Irate

Now once again there is a problem! Exclamation
To instal this I need JDK in special folder or something Um...
I will ask help to my sister because I must go well then lets hope she will success.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2014, 02:05:51 PM by Saturos » Logged
View Profile WWW
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Yesterday at 10:49:52 PM
roger: I can post but it goes to an error page when I submit.
Yesterday at 05:24:12 PM
zman9000: Site is back WOO!
May 09, 2018, 12:35:37 AM
KyleRunner: The "Start In" field is not editable... I'll try making new shortcuts
May 08, 2018, 09:51:08 PM
Fox: If all else fails, you canmake new Shortcuts to do the same thing.
May 08, 2018, 09:49:53 PM
Fox: Export Properties > Shortcut (Tab) > Target / Start In ; Target (for Export) should be: (filename) 0 , and for Import: (filename) 1
May 08, 2018, 08:52:00 PM
KyleRunner: I can't change the path in properties menu...
May 08, 2018, 01:27:19 AM
Fox: You may need to edit something in properties, though... so it uses the exe file in the same directory.
May 08, 2018, 01:24:59 AM
Fox: It is suppose to be a shortcut, yes.
May 03, 2018, 11:48:05 PM
KyleRunner: Fox, the "export" function in your text editor is just a shortcut... Could you please fix it?
May 02, 2018, 09:53:45 PM
KyleRunner: I come here everyday. I'm working on a Portuguese translation, and the people here help me a lot.
May 02, 2018, 08:56:07 AM
Drake baku: My feel as well, I posted a little as well since my return, but silence was all that followed... At least the forum is a great source for data when hacking GS/ GS2, currently looking for something I have read a long time ago cause my PP recovery psy is not working
May 01, 2018, 09:58:04 AM
Fox: I am thinking a lot of this might be because of Discord?
May 01, 2018, 09:56:08 AM
Fox: Yeah, this forum is more dead than ever before.  February and April have 0 new topics. (All other months prior have more.) And March has lowest number of new posts. (It'd be dumb to count the very first month this site was created.)
April 25, 2018, 09:02:13 PM
Fox: Yes. The best tool is a hex editor. Well.... VBA, VBA-SDL-H, no$gba Debugger, GBATEK, and my documentation.... to use these to learn how the code/data works. Best method because it maximizes your editing ability... and then there is my program gsmagic that I was working on. Still in its early stages, though. (Even after year(s).)
April 25, 2018, 04:21:58 PM
Xendrox D: *exept tla editor.
April 25, 2018, 04:21:29 PM
Xendrox D: is there any other tool for hacking gs?
April 23, 2018, 09:26:27 PM
Atrius: Rarely, but not never.
April 23, 2018, 08:01:48 AM
Drake baku: Can it be, the god who created the editor, atrius. I heard you never came back online here anymore
April 20, 2018, 02:46:36 PM
KyleRunner: Atrius!!
April 19, 2018, 11:29:46 PM
Atrius: @Fox, I tried, but for some reason Mario Golf won't boot, and Mario Tennis crashes when you patch out the text compression, and I'm not sure why...  The normal text loading functions in them are basically the same as the ones in the Golden Sun games.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.08 seconds with 29 queries.