Golden Sun Hacking Community
February 18, 2019, 06:24:17 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 16 17 [18] 19   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Error Reports  (Read 79954 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Darkest ivan
Guest
« Reply #255 on: January 08, 2012, 04:40:56 PM »

The map index shows conversations of game. This happens with the spanish rom of Golden Sun 1.


Logged
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1763

« Reply #256 on: January 09, 2012, 12:42:49 AM »

Again?  I thought I fixed that once already...  Or, maybe I did for TLA but never checked the original GS...
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2633

« Reply #257 on: January 31, 2012, 05:55:48 PM »

So. Somehow the editor managed to corrupt a ROM to the point that the editor won't recognize it as a GS ROM. I have no idea how this happened: All I did was take a hack someone had made (all he did was increase the number of turns each enemy gets) and went to change the stats given by Djinn so that all the Djinn found by Felix's party during TLA gave +4 PP as their only stat increase. I also had modified a few abilities and created a new class, as well as modify the elemental levels and innate abilities of some characters.
Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #258 on: January 31, 2012, 11:00:26 PM »

I can confirm this.  That's happened to me as well.  It doesn't happen often, granted, but occasionally it does.  Usually just re-patching a clean rom should work (dunno why, but it does...)
Logged

View Profile WWW
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1763

« Reply #259 on: February 01, 2012, 02:29:57 AM »

Making a patch of the broken ROM, and applying it to a clean one fixes it?

I'd like to see a patch either way.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2633

« Reply #260 on: February 01, 2012, 02:32:11 AM »

Will do next time I have access to a Windows machine.
Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #261 on: February 01, 2012, 11:39:06 AM »

no no no, as in reapplying the patch you used first onto a clean rom.  Basically, starting over.
Logged

View Profile WWW
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2633

« Reply #262 on: February 23, 2012, 06:03:19 PM »

Well, this is interesting. Having a character start with no elemental attributes and changing a class so that it should take the place of NPC and running it in VBA apparently causes the game to randomly scramble all the text in regards to Psynergy descriptions.
Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Durza
Einzelganger

Regular Member
**

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 347

« Reply #263 on: February 25, 2012, 09:40:47 PM »

Got this when I tried checking character stats after using Roles class patch. Can't think of what else would have caused it, since it was a new rom.

ERROR in
action number 1
of Other Event: User Defined 1
for object obj_eParty:

Error reading byte.
Logged

It's not a lie if you don't want to be believed. You're can't be wrong if you don't think you're right.
View Profile

New User


Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

« Reply #264 on: February 28, 2013, 03:42:52 AM »

This is the error i receive when i launch the v0.4 version

ERROR in
action number 1
of Trigger Event: Trigger0
for object obj_stresstest:

Error defining an external function.

Running Windows 7 x64  Felix

anyone know a solution?  Happy
Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2433

« Reply #265 on: February 28, 2013, 05:14:58 AM »

Trigger0? That doesn't exist in obj_stresstest!  I have a feeling you have a similar problem like one of our other members that don't come to GSHC anymore. However, I heard that he was having the problem with obj_license (In v0.5), when I asked him to try deleting obj_license, he was then having it with obj_stresstest. (If I remember correctly.)

http://gmc.yoyogames.com/index.php?showtopic=569319

You could probably try a restore point like he did, or maybe even some Windows Update, but I'm not sure.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2013, 05:20:24 AM by Teawater » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile

New User


Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

« Reply #266 on: February 28, 2013, 07:17:17 PM »

Fixed the error, i just logged out of windows and logged back in, now it works :)
« Last Edit: February 28, 2013, 09:20:58 PM by nenad285 » Logged
View Profile
Drake baku
Aura Charge

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 48

« Reply #267 on: August 30, 2015, 07:17:58 PM »

I have an, well I guess an error, at least its something that is not working properly.
For some reason all psynergy entries I have made starting at slot 277 and higher.
When I put them on a class and end up checking that class later, well they are replaced by an other psynergy, often mercury related but I have seen Venus ones as well, both custom and original ones...

pretty annoying to have gotten so far after so long and suddenly having such problems....

BTW, I am currently working on GS1.
Is there a known solution for this?

(an example for those wanting that or not being able to follow my faulty grammar:

for a custom class I have recreated Undead Curse series, I place them in the class I want and when checking up on the levels and such I find that instead of the Undead Curse series it now has the Ice series
tried other custom skills, all work normally.
tried other classes, same problem.
played with various slots below the ones I put undead curse in, same problem)
Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2433

« Reply #268 on: August 30, 2015, 07:34:51 PM »

*Checks for your problem in version 0.4 of Atrius's editor. (Will check 0.5 later.)

Seems like you were correct! Nice find!
I think it only happens when editing GS1, so GS2 should be fine. And I doubt that there are any work-arounds? So a bug fix may be needed.

Without looking, I suspect Atrius inserts them as the wrong data-type? (AKA: 8-bit instead of 16-bit, for example.)

256 => 0
512 => 0
« Last Edit: August 30, 2015, 07:44:58 PM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Drake baku
Aura Charge

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 48

« Reply #269 on: August 30, 2015, 08:05:54 PM »

is there a 0.5? I have not seen that or read any mention of it...

no work arounds huh... damn that means I have to do a lot more prep work, I was working from some older sheets and incomplete word files on my lap to work on all my classes while trying to make unique duo and mono classes for everyone, downside, had to make a lot more custom spells XD
but due to the older sheets being obsolete and all, I wanted to keep what was already existing to make sure I wont remove something I would need later on.
plus I wanted to add, for example Odyssey and such as well XD
plus due to various other smaller changes I was forced to make various new utility ones as well...

ok going off topic here for a second, I was planning on making items for magic field and arrow as well, figured I wanted to test those out my self (who knows I may find something) but if its 100% clear that they dont work, that would save me some space ^^
Logged
View Profile
Pages: 1 ... 16 17 [18] 19   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
January 20, 2019, 06:29:27 PM
Fox: That would be cool to have, yes. Where the text in the ROM is uncompressed. - The huffman compression used in the gba games is not used in the nds game, so perhaps that may be one reason it wasn't done. I think it is some generic compression thingy. If someone did do it (and make the entire ROM uncompressed), perhaps I would be more inclined to work on my dark dawn editor. Hm?
January 15, 2019, 05:38:01 PM
KyleRunner: Could someone please create a GSTOOLKIT compatible with Dark Dawn? I'll try to translate that one to my language as well (as I did with the first two games).
January 09, 2019, 02:39:00 PM
Luna_blade: I wonder when true death will strike
January 08, 2019, 03:00:02 PM
Misery: That is true
January 07, 2019, 06:08:38 PM
JamietheFlameUser: so this place is pretty inactive
December 17, 2018, 06:43:36 AM
Salanewt: Okay, minor announcement I guess. We just looked over some pre-release footage of GS1, and noticed that one of the unused and unlisted animations we discovered in GS2 (and GS1) plays in that footage. "Brine" is actually an early Fizz.
December 15, 2018, 01:06:23 AM
Fox: :D https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MFmr_TZLpS0
December 15, 2018, 12:58:01 AM
Fox: A banana for you, a banana for me, a banana to your face. Your face is mine! A face for you, a face for me. A face for the banana too. Who wants to feed the banana?
December 09, 2018, 07:43:31 PM
Fox: A banana for you, a banana for me, let's all open a banana and enjoy!
December 08, 2018, 09:48:52 PM
Drake baku: ba... ba.... bana.... bana.... banana.... nanananananananana..... and now back to doing normal, kinda
December 07, 2018, 05:43:02 PM
Luna_blade: Hey I forgot the christmas theme
November 29, 2018, 09:01:09 AM
zman9000: ded
November 19, 2018, 11:05:28 AM
Drake baku: Good day to ya all
October 30, 2018, 09:45:58 PM
Atrius: There used to be where I got the battle sprites for Kraden, but that site doesn't exist any more.
October 26, 2018, 01:31:40 PM
Infitek: Do you know if there any custom Alex battle sprites available on the internet ?
October 26, 2018, 01:31:01 PM
Infitek: Hey everyone
October 13, 2018, 03:23:06 AM
Salanewt: Updated it to provide more info that I forgot to mention.
October 13, 2018, 03:16:48 AM
Salanewt: I'm still trying to iron out IQ 2 but I'm pretty sure it's entirely random targeting.
October 13, 2018, 03:16:29 AM
Salanewt: Oh yeah, I posted some more info about enemy IQ.
October 12, 2018, 09:51:27 PM
FoxThe HTML5 project is too small to count

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.122 seconds with 23 queries.