Golden Sun Hacking Community
January 19, 2018, 05:44:49 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Open Golden Sun: Open source recreation of the Golden Sun engine  (Read 38343 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Novice Member
*

Coins: 3
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 33

« Reply #120 on: October 24, 2016, 04:00:11 PM »

Been a while:

Logged

View Profile WWW
Luna_blade
The last member of the Luna clan
Luna Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: Timeless. As in, i don't have much free time.
Posts: 533

« Reply #121 on: October 24, 2016, 04:18:57 PM »

Wow man!! Exclamation
The new stuff looks good!

I really like how you made this little cutscene.

I really wonder about some things now though:
-How do you record and what resolution?
-What is the internal resolution of the game and do you use filters? (because it really looks like the normal game with smoothing effects)
-How much of the normal engine is already done?
Logged

++++++++++[>+++++++>++++++++++>+++>+<<<<-]>++.>+.+++++++..+++.>++.<<+++++++++++++++.>.+++.------.--------.>+.>.
View Profile

Novice Member
*

Coins: 3
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 33

« Reply #122 on: October 24, 2016, 04:33:21 PM »

Wow man!! Exclamation
The new stuff looks good!

I really like how you made this little cutscene.

I really wonder about some things now though:
-How do you record and what resolution?
-What is the internal resolution of the game and do you use filters? (because it really looks like the normal game with smoothing effects)
-How much of the normal engine is already done?

I use Fraps and record at 1200x800. I then use Handbrake to reduce the file size since Fraps is uncompressed. The internal resolution of the game is the same as the GBA, 240x160 and it uses the HQ4X filter.

What is considered the normal engine? I haven't even begun reworking/remaking the battles or world map.
Logged

View Profile WWW
Luna_blade
The last member of the Luna clan
Luna Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

I am: Timeless. As in, i don't have much free time.
Posts: 533

« Reply #123 on: October 24, 2016, 05:13:06 PM »

I use Fraps and record at 1200x800. I then use Handbrake to reduce the file size since Fraps is uncompressed. The internal resolution of the game is the same as the GBA, 240x160 and it uses the HQ4X filter.
That's pretty nice.
A thing I like to propose, is changeable resolutions, as well as other customization options.
Quote from: OpenGoldenSun
What is considered the normal engine? I haven't even begun reworking/remaking the battles or world map.
There is no general engine I suppose; but what I meant was: Movement, dialogue, basic psynergy, basic battle system, djini's,stats and status systems, a basic overworld.
I know you made the first few things already.
Logged

++++++++++[>+++++++>++++++++++>+++>+<<<<-]>++.>+.+++++++..+++.>++.<<+++++++++++++++.>.+++.------.--------.>+.>.
View Profile

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

« Reply #124 on: October 24, 2016, 06:44:05 PM »

gracias por tu trabajo crack. lo sigo de muy cerca
Logged
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #125 on: October 27, 2016, 11:31:53 PM »

I'd love to see an update detailing battles.  I'd also love to see a demo of adding custom stats and changing formulas.
Logged

View Profile WWW
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
January 17, 2018, 04:07:51 PM
KyleRunner: :D
January 16, 2018, 08:44:56 PM
Fox: I must say... life can be complicated..... when you have question(s) (via email) ... and it seems like they sort of get ignored. :D ; Fun, (And sometimes, a person may respond, and completely not answer the question.... so like... 3-person conversation.) Hahahaha!!
January 15, 2018, 07:26:16 PM
Fox: (path) 1 text=(address) char=(address) free=(address) ; << Well, closer to this... but yeah... even if I do choose to have defaults in the code, I could still use this method for overrides.
January 15, 2018, 07:24:28 PM
Fox: So like (path) 0 text=(address) char=(address) len=(number) ; (path) 1 free=(address) ; Or something. But that's just a quick example.
January 15, 2018, 06:59:14 PM
Fox: Hopefully. I was wanting to make it so you could put in the addresses/etc. as one of the arguments in the path. Hm?
January 15, 2018, 03:37:07 PM
KyleRunner: Nice! I hope you'll add compatibility with others games (GS1, Mario Golf and Tennis) soon.
January 14, 2018, 11:40:09 PM
Fox: Okay. Posted (in Downloads section) an initial cutdown version for now, for my text compressor. Basically to separate the code from my Editor for anyone who wants to mess with it. It only supports GS2, because I still didn't add the addresses/etc. for the other games.
January 14, 2018, 05:01:00 PM
Fox: Okay! Going to need to think how I want it to work. Initial thoughts is maybe have a number of arguments in the filepath thing. And have a number of shortcuts (files) to be used as examples. Assuming there are no problems.
January 14, 2018, 10:38:24 AM
KyleRunner: Well... I'm used to editing text ina a text editor, so... yes! Thanks in advance!
January 13, 2018, 11:38:43 PM
Fox: (Text editor = Text Document like notepad.)
January 13, 2018, 11:38:21 PM
Fox: Would you prefer during the text editing in a text editor? (Like what gstoolkit lets you do?) I could probably make a separate tool or something to compress it.
January 13, 2018, 10:10:02 PM
KyleRunner: Ok. Once I finish my Lost Age translation, I'll try a Mario Golf one. Thanks. (But I'll need help).
January 13, 2018, 10:03:17 PM
Fox: If you want to make it "permanent" (part of a hack), then you'd edit code in the ROM that writes to this location of the IDs you'd want to change. (You can find these locations by using a breakpoint debugger like SDL-H or no$gba.)
January 13, 2018, 10:00:11 PM
Fox: Reload/switch = Recommended to be done through Debug mode/warp menu, ofcourse... since doors seem to appear as if they were disabled? ; 03001238:01 and B+Start to get to warp menu.
January 13, 2018, 09:55:39 PM
Fox: @Kyle Runner = It might be, but you'd have to use the correct addresses for Mario Golf, rather than for GS2 as I have it right now. ; @raijinken = Yes. 02000454 = ID of leader. (Change this and reload/switch room you are in, enjoy.)
January 13, 2018, 02:23:29 PM
raijinken: Hey guys, is it possible to somehow change the lead character on the map? Was wondering. I remember there was a cheat to use Jenna, but what if I wanted Isaac, or Piers?
January 13, 2018, 02:10:03 PM
KyleRunner: Hey, Fox *
January 13, 2018, 02:09:37 PM
KyleRunner: Hey, is your text editor compatible with Mario Golf (GBA)?
January 11, 2018, 08:33:13 PM
Fox: But if it isn't an oversight, I still can't imagine it being that useful.
January 11, 2018, 08:28:24 PM
Fox: part, ofcourse.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.043 seconds with 22 queries.