Golden Sun Hacking Community
September 24, 2018, 07:07:10 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Compression Formats  (Read 6473 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2424

« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2015, 02:49:45 AM »

Well, it didn't fully support Text Compression, as Atrius's editor never rewrote the Char tables... It also didn't decompress battle backgrounds... etc. But the point was that it did support decompressoin/compression for some things...

I think most images are in three/four sections.
1.) The sprites tble: (0x08300000 in GS2)
2.) The Master File Table.. (0x08320000 in GS1, 0x08680000 in GS2; Yep, I have both of them memorized.)
3.) One of the code files has compressed icons.
4.) Oh, and there might be some things compressed in another code file files. (Like the palette menu graphics, I think..) but other than that, I think most graphics in those files are uncompressed(?) - Not many uncompressed images, though... but the red crystal grpahic (for convos), and that pink/purple conical selection thing used to select an enemy maybe.. some |> arrows used in debug menus....  etc. That kind of thing.)
« Last Edit: November 16, 2015, 03:01:22 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 15

« Reply #16 on: November 16, 2015, 06:39:09 PM »

OK, thanks for getting me inputs, I will investigate further. I guess, pointer for the chunk of graphics, I'm going to translate (GO and 1st match glyphs in arena) is hardcoded.
Logged
View Profile

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 15

« Reply #17 on: February 11, 2016, 05:06:33 PM »

An update for my set of compression tools of Golden Sun.
Now it supports decoding/encoding for text, and two LZSS schemes for graphics, described in OP post.
Logged
View Profile

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13

« Reply #18 on: March 10, 2016, 12:51:56 PM »

Hi approxies, Fox and Lord Squirtle, I am currently looking for a way to encode my Polish translation of The Lost Age in a different way than using Atrius' Editor, as it makes the output file much bigger and is now incompatible with The Balance Age  Sweat Drop
Needles to say that this thread caught my interest. Approxies, would you mind making a little tutorial to your compression tools for a non-programmer? I've played around with the tools a little bit, but can't really get them to work.
The haskell one returns "Could not find module 'Data.Bitstream.Lazy' (I just installed the GHC compiler).
Recommended translation scheme from the earlier version with .bat files works fine until the encoding (-e) part, where it shows "trees: Patch size is larger than specified. Aborted." I guess it is because my translation is larger than the original file (duh), so do I need to specify a new treeSize, Offset? How do I calculate this? :)
Here is the script, if you want to take a look.
Logged
View Profile

I need saves to test encounters in GS Reloaded!

Excellent Member
****

Coins: 13
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 765

« Reply #19 on: March 10, 2016, 01:16:28 PM »

I'm not sure about it, but i think you can tweak gstlatoolkit itself and make it store the script later into the rom . that way you'd also gain back the compatibility with my patch.
Logged
View Profile

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13

« Reply #20 on: March 10, 2016, 04:42:51 PM »

I don't really know how to do that. I mean, I know where to look, but I don't know the right values to use. The patching file in gstlatoolkit looks like this:

Spoiler for Hidden:
Quote
echo Expanding ROM
patch x tla_patched.gba $01800000

echo Assembling decompress.asm
goldroad asm\decompress.asm

echo Assembling setArgumentsTLA.asm
goldroad asm\setArgumentsTLA.asm

echo Inserting decompress.asm
patch i tla_patched.gba asm\decompress.gba $0003843C

echo Inserting setArgumentsTLA.asm
patch i tla_patched.gba asm\setArgumentsTLA.gba $00038580

echo Inserting string offset table
patch i tla_patched.gba bin\offsets.bin $00FA0000

echo Inserting strings
patch i tla_patched.gba bin\strings.bin $00FAC300
Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2424

« Reply #21 on: March 10, 2016, 06:00:56 PM »

Whether you choose to compress or not is up to you... Frankly, I don't think it matters unless you need the space. (Probably don't.)

I did not look at how Approxies puts the data back into the ROM... But my compressor compresses it to 0x00FA0000.... and it looks the addresses in your spoiler (gstlatoolkit) places it there too... Soo...

Quote
echo Inserting string offset table
patch i tla_patched.gba bin\offsets.bin $00FA0000

echo Inserting strings
patch i tla_patched.gba bin\strings.bin $00FAC300

With the game open in VisualBoyAdvance, you can go to Tools>Memory Viewer... in the address field... The Rom section goes from 0x08000000-0x09FFFFFF, it should match what you see when you open the file in a hex editor. So you just put 0x08FA0000 in the address field, press Go... scroll down until you find what looks like 00 data... That is unused/free data... and is the address you want to put in. (And +0xC300 for the next address.) (Assuming you're editing a hack, I recommend overwriting the text data that has already been pointed in the area if it is there. It should be easy to notice in The Balance Age since the text should be uncompressed, but I didn't check that for myself, if anything unlikely should go wrong.)

You might need to edit the same addresses in the asm files as well. (So that the game knows that the data moved.)


^^ Wrote this without checking.... but I did look into gstoolkit a long time ago, so....
« Last Edit: March 10, 2016, 06:17:31 PM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile

I need saves to test encounters in GS Reloaded!

Excellent Member
****

Coins: 13
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 765

« Reply #22 on: March 10, 2016, 06:24:58 PM »

Try this: open go_TLA.bat with a txt editor and change "$00FA0000" to "$01000000" and "$00FAC300" to "$0100C300" then go into the asm folder, open setArgumentsTLA.asm in the same txt editor, and change at lines 57 and 58:
"r2,=0x08FA0000" to "r2,=0x09000000" and
"r3,=0x08FAC300" to "r3,=0x0900C300"

Save both edited files and paste your translation on a clean ROM (clean as in "not already patched with gstlatoolkit).

This way you save the uncompressed text at 01000000, which is where the original ROM ends. Basically, this way the toolkit can't overlap with anything and it'd be compatible with literally every patch you can find on this forum.

EDIT: @Fox actually in my patches the text is still compressed, I made all the changes with the editor.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2016, 07:03:53 PM by Caledor » Logged
View Profile

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13

« Reply #23 on: March 11, 2016, 09:01:16 PM »

Thanks guys, looks like saving the text at 01000000 gets rid of all compatibility problems  Happy
Logged
View Profile
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
September 07, 2018, 03:51:10 AM
Majora: Updated all three Golden Sun 2.0 mod pages with awesome new information. The 2.0 mod series has merged with a unique and exciting project currently in development for Minecraft version 1.12.2! The beautiful objects and textures from the 2.0 series of Minecraft mods will feature as part of this expansive in-development Golden Sun project, which will bring in-depth classic Golden Sun gameplay to the Minecraft experience. We will provide an official reveal in the near future.
September 03, 2018, 07:35:55 PM
Caledor: what's really impressive is that in 3 years of modding here i've yet to do a full playthrough on TLA with my own mod lol
September 03, 2018, 06:51:38 PM
Luna_blade: ho that is still impressive
September 03, 2018, 01:25:14 PM
Caledor: it's not 71 cause i often skip numbers but i think that adding up the ones balance age as well it's about 80 versions
September 03, 2018, 11:51:45 AM
Luna_blade: holy @#$% 71 versions @caledor? What have I been missing all this time?
August 02, 2018, 07:42:12 PM
Caledor: patch for TLA uploaded again cause i forgot to update descriptions for 3 shields
August 02, 2018, 01:16:14 AM
Caledor: Don't want to triple post so I'll just announce here that v1.71 is out. I updated my last post.
July 29, 2018, 12:18:00 PM
KyleRunner: Let me see...
July 28, 2018, 08:12:34 PM
Fox: What value do you see at 08000468? (Or 00000468 in hex editor)  0801319D or 08F9EE50?
July 28, 2018, 07:11:11 PM
KyleRunner: "there is an easy fix by changing a pointer back to what it was suppose to be"... Hmmm... How?
July 27, 2018, 10:11:06 AM
Fox: Bootleg*
July 27, 2018, 10:09:03 AM
Fox: There are two ROMs that can be found on the internet, one may have the MEGAROMs boot load stuff. (So not truely clean.) ... If you get a screen while booting the game and holding L+R (I think it was?), then you know you have it, and your ROM is not truely "clean"... it is unfortunate, but there is an easy fix by changing a pointer back to what it was suppose to be..
July 27, 2018, 05:10:13 AM
MaxiPower: Hello World
July 25, 2018, 11:09:23 PM
KyleRunner: Well... here's The problem that needs solving: my GSTLA translation patch only works on a clean rom, with specific CRC. 
July 25, 2018, 07:59:37 PM
Fox: I am not sure I understand? If there was such a program to "clean" a dirty ROM dump, what exactly would it do?
July 25, 2018, 12:37:42 PM
KyleRunner: Hello, guys. Could someone teach me how to "clean" a dirty Golden Sun rom dump? Is there a program or something?
July 25, 2018, 01:37:40 AM
Atrius: @Fox, yeah... I was expecting it to take 2 weeks at most...
July 25, 2018, 12:03:01 AM
Majora: Yes, I believe so. Think they were made public a while ago prior to the site issue
July 24, 2018, 08:26:45 PM
Luna_blade: is it normal that I can see all clans?
July 24, 2018, 08:25:41 PM
Luna_blade: Nice to see it is back!

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.12 seconds with 22 queries.