Golden Sun Hacking Community
June 24, 2017, 08:43:28 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Compression Formats  (Read 3790 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 25
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2306

« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2015, 02:49:45 AM »

Well, it didn't fully support Text Compression, as Atrius's editor never rewrote the Char tables... It also didn't decompress battle backgrounds... etc. But the point was that it did support decompressoin/compression for some things...

I think most images are in three/four sections.
1.) The sprites tble: (0x08300000 in GS2)
2.) The Master File Table.. (0x08320000 in GS1, 0x08680000 in GS2; Yep, I have both of them memorized.)
3.) One of the code files has compressed icons.
4.) Oh, and there might be some things compressed in another code file files. (Like the palette menu graphics, I think..) but other than that, I think most graphics in those files are uncompressed(?) - Not many uncompressed images, though... but the red crystal grpahic (for convos), and that pink/purple conical selection thing used to select an enemy maybe.. some |> arrows used in debug menus....  etc. That kind of thing.)
« Last Edit: November 16, 2015, 03:01:22 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...
View Profile

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 15

« Reply #16 on: November 16, 2015, 06:39:09 PM »

OK, thanks for getting me inputs, I will investigate further. I guess, pointer for the chunk of graphics, I'm going to translate (GO and 1st match glyphs in arena) is hardcoded.
Logged
View Profile

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 15

« Reply #17 on: February 11, 2016, 05:06:33 PM »

An update for my set of compression tools of Golden Sun.
Now it supports decoding/encoding for text, and two LZSS schemes for graphics, described in OP post.
Logged
View Profile

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13

« Reply #18 on: March 10, 2016, 12:51:56 PM »

Hi approxies, Fox and Lord Squirtle, I am currently looking for a way to encode my Polish translation of The Lost Age in a different way than using Atrius' Editor, as it makes the output file much bigger and is now incompatible with The Balance Age  Sweat Drop
Needles to say that this thread caught my interest. Approxies, would you mind making a little tutorial to your compression tools for a non-programmer? I've played around with the tools a little bit, but can't really get them to work.
The haskell one returns "Could not find module 'Data.Bitstream.Lazy' (I just installed the GHC compiler).
Recommended translation scheme from the earlier version with .bat files works fine until the encoding (-e) part, where it shows "trees: Patch size is larger than specified. Aborted." I guess it is because my translation is larger than the original file (duh), so do I need to specify a new treeSize, Offset? How do I calculate this? :)
Here is the script, if you want to take a look.
Logged
View Profile

I need saves to test encounters in GS Reloaded!

Great Member
***

Coins: 11
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 678

« Reply #19 on: March 10, 2016, 01:16:28 PM »

I'm not sure about it, but i think you can tweak gstlatoolkit itself and make it store the script later into the rom . that way you'd also gain back the compatibility with my patch.
Logged
View Profile

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13

« Reply #20 on: March 10, 2016, 04:42:51 PM »

I don't really know how to do that. I mean, I know where to look, but I don't know the right values to use. The patching file in gstlatoolkit looks like this:

Spoiler for Hiden:
Quote
echo Expanding ROM
patch x tla_patched.gba $01800000

echo Assembling decompress.asm
goldroad asm\decompress.asm

echo Assembling setArgumentsTLA.asm
goldroad asm\setArgumentsTLA.asm

echo Inserting decompress.asm
patch i tla_patched.gba asm\decompress.gba $0003843C

echo Inserting setArgumentsTLA.asm
patch i tla_patched.gba asm\setArgumentsTLA.gba $00038580

echo Inserting string offset table
patch i tla_patched.gba bin\offsets.bin $00FA0000

echo Inserting strings
patch i tla_patched.gba bin\strings.bin $00FAC300
Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 25
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2306

« Reply #21 on: March 10, 2016, 06:00:56 PM »

Whether you choose to compress or not is up to you... Frankly, I don't think it matters unless you need the space. (Probably don't.)

I did not look at how Approxies puts the data back into the ROM... But my compressor compresses it to 0x00FA0000.... and it looks the addresses in your spoiler (gstlatoolkit) places it there too... Soo...

Quote
echo Inserting string offset table
patch i tla_patched.gba bin\offsets.bin $00FA0000

echo Inserting strings
patch i tla_patched.gba bin\strings.bin $00FAC300

With the game open in VisualBoyAdvance, you can go to Tools>Memory Viewer... in the address field... The Rom section goes from 0x08000000-0x09FFFFFF, it should match what you see when you open the file in a hex editor. So you just put 0x08FA0000 in the address field, press Go... scroll down until you find what looks like 00 data... That is unused/free data... and is the address you want to put in. (And +0xC300 for the next address.) (Assuming you're editing a hack, I recommend overwriting the text data that has already been pointed in the area if it is there. It should be easy to notice in The Balance Age since the text should be uncompressed, but I didn't check that for myself, if anything unlikely should go wrong.)

You might need to edit the same addresses in the asm files as well. (So that the game knows that the data moved.)


^^ Wrote this without checking.... but I did look into gstoolkit a long time ago, so....
« Last Edit: March 10, 2016, 06:17:31 PM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...
View Profile

I need saves to test encounters in GS Reloaded!

Great Member
***

Coins: 11
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 678

« Reply #22 on: March 10, 2016, 06:24:58 PM »

Try this: open go_TLA.bat with a txt editor and change "$00FA0000" to "$01000000" and "$00FAC300" to "$0100C300" then go into the asm folder, open setArgumentsTLA.asm in the same txt editor, and change at lines 57 and 58:
"r2,=0x08FA0000" to "r2,=0x09000000" and
"r3,=0x08FAC300" to "r3,=0x0900C300"

Save both edited files and paste your translation on a clean ROM (clean as in "not already patched with gstlatoolkit).

This way you save the uncompressed text at 01000000, which is where the original ROM ends. Basically, this way the toolkit can't overlap with anything and it'd be compatible with literally every patch you can find on this forum.

EDIT: @Fox actually in my patches the text is still compressed, I made all the changes with the editor.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2016, 07:03:53 PM by Caledor » Logged
View Profile

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13

« Reply #23 on: March 11, 2016, 09:01:16 PM »

Thanks guys, looks like saving the text at 01000000 gets rid of all compatibility problems  Happy
Logged
View Profile
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Yesterday at 02:25:42 PM
Seto Kaiba: you know I miss how SMF is almost dead now because having 1pt text to hide my true feels was perhaps the best part of web 2.0
Yesterday at 04:19:13 AM
Fox: Alright. Sounds good.  I agree it does seem a bit silly.  Sounds more of an April Fools type of thing. (Maybe having an ability for people to change their names limitless times specifically on April Fools is an idea.)
Yesterday at 04:09:25 AM
Kain: Sala asked me about the name, I thought it was silly but agreed he could have it only for a week.  Tomorrow his name goes back to Salanewt.
Yesterday at 03:29:10 AM
Fox: And yay! Atrius is back! Thanks for the reply. Somehow I didn't notice the recuriveness before.
Yesterday at 03:25:29 AM
Fox: @ridiculous name for a week =  Hm? So, how many characters would you say should be the maximum to have a name "permanently"... or better yet... How many characters can a name have on registration?
Yesterday at 01:00:50 AM
Atrius: @Javi3, Lo siento, ya no tengo tiempo.
June 22, 2017, 08:57:37 PM
Fox: @conundrum = Think about 8/16/32 bit aligned address, and what that means... Etc.
June 22, 2017, 08:55:23 PM
Fox: @Space manager thought for gsmagic = What a conundrum... Whelp... I'll just do whatever.... Probably would waste more time thinking about preventing bugs than coding anyway. :P
June 21, 2017, 09:30:34 AM
Fox: Because he quit a long time ago and has other priorities?
June 21, 2017, 08:35:54 AM
javi3: Atrius, por que no sigues con el editor de golden sun?
June 20, 2017, 10:52:48 AM
Fox: It feels like the safest bet is to do Atrius's repointering system, and have something that organizes the tables done a bit separate... er... Well, it's something to think about.
June 20, 2017, 08:53:41 AM
Fox: HOWEVER... I can see other problems that might cause..... (Even with just the pointer in the MFT)  Meh. It's like you actually need a program to apply patches to do it appropriately.
June 20, 2017, 08:46:38 AM
Fox: ... So... What am I thinking? You ask? That the patches the point data after MFT, should have had pointers in the MFT themselves.... In that case, I can see a possibility of everything working smoothly even if space is needed to the very end of the ROM.
June 20, 2017, 08:37:22 AM
Fox: It's basically that everthink from the point of  editing, to the closest free space to the last entry's address would get repointed forward/backwards depending on space needed... and if space is mapped after patches are added, then that could mean the patches are also repointed. (:o)
June 20, 2017, 08:29:03 AM
Fox: Well, I mean if I map the space out the same way Atrius did it.
June 20, 2017, 08:26:41 AM
Fox: I have a hunch... when I add Map Palette editing the way I'm thinking about... it will cause all patches that repoint to after the MFT to break.... Especially if Atrius's editor wasn't used beforehand. Etc.
June 20, 2017, 07:27:17 AM
Fox: Hmmm... Let's see... regardless of method, I think I still do want to take some of Atrius's Space Manager code... Hmm.....
June 20, 2017, 07:07:27 AM
Fox: say*
June 20, 2017, 07:07:19 AM
Fox: I'd go so far as to see.. even if you are trying to be accurate, there could still be inaccuracies... However, that one was just an example where it was clearly intentional.
June 20, 2017, 07:04:03 AM
Fox: Like*

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.086 seconds with 22 queries.