Golden Sun Hacking Community
January 18, 2018, 01:41:31 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 26   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New Feature Preview Topic  (Read 66724 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« on: October 30, 2008, 06:50:00 PM »

Ability Editor


Class Editor


And in case anyone from www.forumdjinn.es happens to be looking.  (It's nice to see interest from non-English speaking Golden Sun communities)
« Last Edit: April 12, 2010, 02:34:51 PM by Atrius » Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
Et3rnal
Guest
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2008, 08:18:00 PM »

Cool, can't wait to download. ^^
Logged
weckar
Guest
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2008, 11:25:00 AM »

Will it be possible to change the name of and the animation an ability uses?
Logged
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2008, 12:16:00 PM »

Not yet.  I haven't found the animation data for them yet, and I'm still working on the text compression, it's a real pain.

After I find the data for Djinni stat increases I'll probably start really pounding away at that text compression.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
weckar
Guest
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2008, 10:21:00 PM »

once we get text compression, we can edit text, rght?

EDIT: btw, do you like my sigpics?
Logged
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2008, 03:59:00 PM »

once we get text compression, we can edit text, rght?

EDIT: btw, do you like my sigpics?
I'll still have to find a way to make sure it doesn't create problems if the new text takes up more space than the old text, but yeah.


They're nice.  The area around the white streaks in the purple hair looks a little odd, but other than that, good job.  If you plan on sticking them into TLA it's worth mentioning Character Portraits are limited to a 15 color palette (Technically 16, but one color is always transparent)
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
MaxiPower
Feed Me Coins!!
Venus Clan

Great Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 684

« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2008, 06:42:00 PM »

once we get text compression, we can edit text, rght?

EDIT: btw, do you like my sigpics?
I'll still have to find a way to make sure it doesn't create problems if the new text takes up more space than the old text, but yeah.

out of interest, there are methods of expanding GBA roms without corrupting data isnt there?

out of interest, there are methods of expanding GBA roms without corrupting data isnt there?
Logged
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« Reply #7 on: November 01, 2008, 07:12:00 PM »

Expanding GBA ROMs is extremely easy.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
weckar
Guest
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2008, 10:57:00 AM »

would that colour palette be predefined, or am I okay as long as I don't use more than 15 colours?
Logged
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2008, 01:09:00 PM »

I'm not sure yet, but I believe they each have their own palette.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2008, 12:00:00 AM »

It's interesting to see that it's not the number of Djinn equipped that matters for classes, but rather element Level.  I look forward to the v0.2 release! ^-^
Logged

View Profile WWW
weckar
Guest
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2008, 09:30:00 AM »

Hmm, very true Role. Do we have any data on the characters' 'natural' elemental Levels?
Logged
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2008, 02:50:00 PM »

They all start out with 5 in their base element, and zero in everything else.

I was able to make my hacked Kraden character's elemental levels all zero, and by assigning five of any element of Djinni to him, he was able become the base class of that element (Since he's edited from Piers his water class was Mariner though).  It's weird though... Even after removing the Djinn, and reverting his class to NPC (The default class with no requirements, no bonuses, and supposedly no abilities) he retains the Psynergy abilities of the last class he was.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
weckar
Guest
« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2008, 06:12:00 PM »

That is odd. Maybe the NPC class acttually doesn't change a thing about that part of the data.

Does this mean btw that we can create a global character with 5 in every element level?
Logged
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2008, 06:48:00 PM »

You can't create new characters, you'd have to edit an existing one, but yes, you can make their base elemental levels anywhere from 0 to 25.
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 26   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Yesterday at 04:07:51 PM
KyleRunner: :D
January 16, 2018, 08:44:56 PM
Fox: I must say... life can be complicated..... when you have question(s) (via email) ... and it seems like they sort of get ignored. :D ; Fun, (And sometimes, a person may respond, and completely not answer the question.... so like... 3-person conversation.) Hahahaha!!
January 15, 2018, 07:26:16 PM
Fox: (path) 1 text=(address) char=(address) free=(address) ; << Well, closer to this... but yeah... even if I do choose to have defaults in the code, I could still use this method for overrides.
January 15, 2018, 07:24:28 PM
Fox: So like (path) 0 text=(address) char=(address) len=(number) ; (path) 1 free=(address) ; Or something. But that's just a quick example.
January 15, 2018, 06:59:14 PM
Fox: Hopefully. I was wanting to make it so you could put in the addresses/etc. as one of the arguments in the path. Hm?
January 15, 2018, 03:37:07 PM
KyleRunner: Nice! I hope you'll add compatibility with others games (GS1, Mario Golf and Tennis) soon.
January 14, 2018, 11:40:09 PM
Fox: Okay. Posted (in Downloads section) an initial cutdown version for now, for my text compressor. Basically to separate the code from my Editor for anyone who wants to mess with it. It only supports GS2, because I still didn't add the addresses/etc. for the other games.
January 14, 2018, 05:01:00 PM
Fox: Okay! Going to need to think how I want it to work. Initial thoughts is maybe have a number of arguments in the filepath thing. And have a number of shortcuts (files) to be used as examples. Assuming there are no problems.
January 14, 2018, 10:38:24 AM
KyleRunner: Well... I'm used to editing text ina a text editor, so... yes! Thanks in advance!
January 13, 2018, 11:38:43 PM
Fox: (Text editor = Text Document like notepad.)
January 13, 2018, 11:38:21 PM
Fox: Would you prefer during the text editing in a text editor? (Like what gstoolkit lets you do?) I could probably make a separate tool or something to compress it.
January 13, 2018, 10:10:02 PM
KyleRunner: Ok. Once I finish my Lost Age translation, I'll try a Mario Golf one. Thanks. (But I'll need help).
January 13, 2018, 10:03:17 PM
Fox: If you want to make it "permanent" (part of a hack), then you'd edit code in the ROM that writes to this location of the IDs you'd want to change. (You can find these locations by using a breakpoint debugger like SDL-H or no$gba.)
January 13, 2018, 10:00:11 PM
Fox: Reload/switch = Recommended to be done through Debug mode/warp menu, ofcourse... since doors seem to appear as if they were disabled? ; 03001238:01 and B+Start to get to warp menu.
January 13, 2018, 09:55:39 PM
Fox: @Kyle Runner = It might be, but you'd have to use the correct addresses for Mario Golf, rather than for GS2 as I have it right now. ; @raijinken = Yes. 02000454 = ID of leader. (Change this and reload/switch room you are in, enjoy.)
January 13, 2018, 02:23:29 PM
raijinken: Hey guys, is it possible to somehow change the lead character on the map? Was wondering. I remember there was a cheat to use Jenna, but what if I wanted Isaac, or Piers?
January 13, 2018, 02:10:03 PM
KyleRunner: Hey, Fox *
January 13, 2018, 02:09:37 PM
KyleRunner: Hey, is your text editor compatible with Mario Golf (GBA)?
January 11, 2018, 08:33:13 PM
Fox: But if it isn't an oversight, I still can't imagine it being that useful.
January 11, 2018, 08:28:24 PM
Fox: part, ofcourse.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.043 seconds with 22 queries.