Golden Sun Hacking Community
January 19, 2018, 11:10:32 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Lemuria Fountain is weird  (Read 1788 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Regular Member
**

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 135

« Reply #15 on: December 20, 2016, 08:40:10 AM »

The djinn/agility thing can always be redone from new game file screen. The only notable ones are Granite, Ground, Flash, Spritz, Kite, Zephyr and to a lesser extent Vine and Breeze are nice. We also prefer 5 jupiter djinn instead of 4 because jupiter summons are the best. Since its only 6 djinn its extremely manageable.

Regarding RNG manip, this was my best effort for spirit ring; https://www.twitch.tv/tl_plexa/v/108669429

Its much easier than reading NPC movement where you need to memorise 6 different seeds to make it work. Here you just get the encounter and look up the RN offset (via attack cancelling) to get the right RN seed.
Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2403

« Reply #16 on: December 23, 2016, 12:10:55 AM »

Just those six? Alright. Makes sense.
Flint and Fizz should always be in Isaac's party, I believe...
I suppose Vine/Breeze could possibly be the sacrificed djinn if that's the difference between a better stat roll.

Sounds cool.

Meanwhile, I watched your World Map OOB video on getting to Mars Lighthouse early... the other day... Pretty impressive... eh? I just wish that one of these glitches had a reliable way of editing memory somehow, but still not seeing it yet.... (Especially one to turn on debug mode. ;) That'd basically allow a speed-run to skip all of Mars Lighthouse, pretty much. If that glitch theoretically happened to be in Mars Lighthouse before Force is needed, then this World Map OOB glitch could be useful? Probably should rewatch your video, though... and compare times and such.)


@ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWQGHxtRk6A = Yes, Santums are set when you first enter a town, I believe? So be happy that's the first map to the town. :)
« Last Edit: December 23, 2016, 04:31:29 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile

Regular Member
**

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 135

« Reply #17 on: December 23, 2016, 08:30:57 AM »

Well while we're on the subject of almost game breaking things I may as well complain about the removal of the infinite climb glitch in GS2. In GS1 if you press Start (or any button) on frame 13 after pressing up to climb something you'll open the save menu, allowing you to save/reload and elevate your Z coordinate. Here it is in action: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAN7Z2WfyxI&t=59m24s

For some Camelot patched it in GS2 so that this no longer works. The glitch in GS1 is only used in Altin and doesn't do very much. In GS2 it could be used all over the place (precisely anytime there's a log at the top of a staircase that needs to be moved, you could ICG to elevate your Z coordinate and simply move it out of the way).
Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2403

« Reply #18 on: December 24, 2016, 01:53:47 AM »

So many field glitches... and are there any battle glitches?

And that ladder thing. D: ... Well, it's not like it'd give you Debug menu anyway, unless you're crazy lucky.


https://youtu.be/Dy_Xq75tsaM?t=9m36s = Haha.. Looks like someone was having fun.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2016, 02:59:55 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile

Regular Member
**

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 135

« Reply #19 on: December 24, 2016, 09:53:03 AM »

Yeah no battle glitches (other than consequences of skipping mia - after colosso the game forces a fourth character in your party but since you never acquired mia it just repeats the first character in your party). Which is actually very interesting given that there are overworld glitches.

The video you linked actually has an explanation lol. Entering an area as Felix or the boat changes the sprite when you enter an area. For instance, if you enter Sea of Time as Felix (instead of the boat) you can walk around the area as Felix (without collision) and in the top left the boat sprite is just hanging out. If you enter an area as the boat in an area without the boat sprite in the top left it just end up walking around as whatever the equivalent sprite is for that area. The lash pole for Yampi, that random Daila guy in Daila and so on.
Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2403

« Reply #20 on: December 24, 2016, 12:41:18 PM »

-Cool!

Quote
The video you linked actually has an explanation lol. Entering an area as Felix or the boat changes the sprite when you enter an area. For instance, if you enter Sea of Time as Felix (instead of the boat) you can walk around the area as Felix (without collision) and in the top left the boat sprite is just hanging out. If you enter an area as the boat in an area without the boat sprite in the top left it just end up walking around as whatever the equivalent sprite is for that area. The lash pole for Yampi, that random Daila guy in Daila and so on.
Well yes, ofcourse.. The PC's have dedicated sprite slots, where-as the other sprites are just listed starting from slot 0x8.

But the point was that I was finding the peg thing comical... (If that makes sense...) I can imagine a pun being made out of that... Think:  Take it down a peg, will you? :D


Speaking of? I'm not sure I studied Sea of Time's conveyors? (The circling motion of waves)?  Feel pretty sure I studied the Regular maps and world map collision data at one point, however, I think forced movement is different(?)... We'll see.

02030034 (Slot 0x8) => 0203236C:
=0x0200A154... as default idle script (When you are using Felix.)
=0x0802F170...  as active PC script.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2016, 09:17:07 PM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
January 17, 2018, 04:07:51 PM
KyleRunner: :D
January 16, 2018, 08:44:56 PM
Fox: I must say... life can be complicated..... when you have question(s) (via email) ... and it seems like they sort of get ignored. :D ; Fun, (And sometimes, a person may respond, and completely not answer the question.... so like... 3-person conversation.) Hahahaha!!
January 15, 2018, 07:26:16 PM
Fox: (path) 1 text=(address) char=(address) free=(address) ; << Well, closer to this... but yeah... even if I do choose to have defaults in the code, I could still use this method for overrides.
January 15, 2018, 07:24:28 PM
Fox: So like (path) 0 text=(address) char=(address) len=(number) ; (path) 1 free=(address) ; Or something. But that's just a quick example.
January 15, 2018, 06:59:14 PM
Fox: Hopefully. I was wanting to make it so you could put in the addresses/etc. as one of the arguments in the path. Hm?
January 15, 2018, 03:37:07 PM
KyleRunner: Nice! I hope you'll add compatibility with others games (GS1, Mario Golf and Tennis) soon.
January 14, 2018, 11:40:09 PM
Fox: Okay. Posted (in Downloads section) an initial cutdown version for now, for my text compressor. Basically to separate the code from my Editor for anyone who wants to mess with it. It only supports GS2, because I still didn't add the addresses/etc. for the other games.
January 14, 2018, 05:01:00 PM
Fox: Okay! Going to need to think how I want it to work. Initial thoughts is maybe have a number of arguments in the filepath thing. And have a number of shortcuts (files) to be used as examples. Assuming there are no problems.
January 14, 2018, 10:38:24 AM
KyleRunner: Well... I'm used to editing text ina a text editor, so... yes! Thanks in advance!
January 13, 2018, 11:38:43 PM
Fox: (Text editor = Text Document like notepad.)
January 13, 2018, 11:38:21 PM
Fox: Would you prefer during the text editing in a text editor? (Like what gstoolkit lets you do?) I could probably make a separate tool or something to compress it.
January 13, 2018, 10:10:02 PM
KyleRunner: Ok. Once I finish my Lost Age translation, I'll try a Mario Golf one. Thanks. (But I'll need help).
January 13, 2018, 10:03:17 PM
Fox: If you want to make it "permanent" (part of a hack), then you'd edit code in the ROM that writes to this location of the IDs you'd want to change. (You can find these locations by using a breakpoint debugger like SDL-H or no$gba.)
January 13, 2018, 10:00:11 PM
Fox: Reload/switch = Recommended to be done through Debug mode/warp menu, ofcourse... since doors seem to appear as if they were disabled? ; 03001238:01 and B+Start to get to warp menu.
January 13, 2018, 09:55:39 PM
Fox: @Kyle Runner = It might be, but you'd have to use the correct addresses for Mario Golf, rather than for GS2 as I have it right now. ; @raijinken = Yes. 02000454 = ID of leader. (Change this and reload/switch room you are in, enjoy.)
January 13, 2018, 02:23:29 PM
raijinken: Hey guys, is it possible to somehow change the lead character on the map? Was wondering. I remember there was a cheat to use Jenna, but what if I wanted Isaac, or Piers?
January 13, 2018, 02:10:03 PM
KyleRunner: Hey, Fox *
January 13, 2018, 02:09:37 PM
KyleRunner: Hey, is your text editor compatible with Mario Golf (GBA)?
January 11, 2018, 08:33:13 PM
Fox: But if it isn't an oversight, I still can't imagine it being that useful.
January 11, 2018, 08:28:24 PM
Fox: part, ofcourse.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.05 seconds with 22 queries.