Golden Sun Hacking Community
April 27, 2017, 03:30:39 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Jupiter Lighthouse Stuff  (Read 486 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Regular Member
**

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 91

« on: February 08, 2017, 12:11:32 PM »

Hey everyone. Jupiter lighthouse is known as the most unbroken dungeon in TLA. Everything we've thought of has failed. I took another run at the Lighthouse today and made a curious observation concerning the retreat glitch.

Normally the retreat glitch works like this. After retreat has failed the game thinks you are in the room that you would have been sent to if retreat was successful (the 'retreat room'). Example - entering Airs rock through the second entrance makes the retreat point Area 55 Door 10, if you enter another Area of the dungeon (say Area 58) and use the retreat glitch then the Area is reset to 55, while you're still physically in Area 58. In this glitched state walking through doors loads the corresponding door in the retreat room. So if you're in Area 58 and walk through Door 3, instead of being sent where this door sends you instead you will be sent to where Area 55 Door 3 will send you.

Hopefully that's not too confusing.

In Jupiter Lighthouse this doesn't appear to happen. Regardless of which door you access, you always get sent back to Area 251 Door 0. This is the same location you'd be if you'd entered the dungeon from the overworld. I'm not sure if it is Door 0, but it certainly seems like it is.

I'm just wondering if there's anything special code wise surrounding this lighthouse that might explain this. I know that encountering Alex resets the last visited Sanctum to Contigo, but beyond that I don't know of anything. 
Logged
View Profile
Fox
(Your name), the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 17
Offline Offline

I am: You. (What's your name?)
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2234

« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2017, 02:24:34 PM »

It is most likely because the Retreat room uses a different map code file than the rest of the Lighthouse, so the map number doesn't get found.... and if none are found, it doesn't know what to change the map/door number to, so it leaves it as is?

http://forum.goldensunhacking.net/index.php?topic=1014.0 = This topic describes how Exit data is formatted, to point out that a map number is looked up. (Compared with what is stored at the value that gets changed when Retreat fails.) .... However, when I say "different map code files" then that means this gets changed as well... (02008000-0200FFFF = Map code file section.) (When Retreat fails, it doesn't revert back to the Retreat Map's Map Code, which would have been cool, but oh well. And even if it did in this case, then there wouldn't be much abuse you could do, could you? With only two doors that's nearly 10 seconds apart....)
« Last Edit: February 08, 2017, 03:08:41 PM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Isaac Isaac Isaac Isaac Mwahahaha!!!
Garet Aah! Get away from me Issac!
Isaac Why do you spell my name wrong?
Garet They said to add 's' if it's plural.
View Profile

Regular Member
**

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 91

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2017, 11:42:34 AM »

The retreat glitch still works, just the every door sends you to the entrance of the dungeon (where you would have been sent if retreat was successful).

If I'm reading the editor correctly, I see the following exits; door 1 -> world map, door 2-> door 2 of 0xFE, door 3->door 3 of 0xFE, door 4 -> door 4 of 0xFC

This doesn't indicate that there's anything funny going on. Although I'm comparing it to another room which has a "madra warp" (felix gets sent to a default position on the world map) to see what is different. Along these lines, it's probably worth clarify exactly what is going when these madra warps happen.

One example is the 0xB door in room 0xCF (Tundaria Tower Interior). Door 0xB in map 0xCF gets sent to door 2 room 0xCF. If you retreat warp through the door you get sent to madra. Looking up Room 0xB relative to map 0xCE (which is where retreat would send you) would make the game read the blank code 0xFFFFFFFF

http://imgur.com/YNQW8RG

Does this mean that the game trying to send you to door 0xFF in area 0xFFF and this sends Felix to the default position on the world map? Or does the game try to look up Door 0xB in Map 0xCE, find nothing, then default you to the default position?

I noticed that the Jupiter Lighthouse stuff is missing any of the 0xFFFFFFFF separators, hence these questions.

EDIT: the first room of Jupiter lighthouse for convenience https://gyazo.com/bc4cb999812c43654b92e1cd6273409f

« Last Edit: February 09, 2017, 12:32:02 PM by Plexa » Logged
View Profile
Fox
(Your name), the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 17
Offline Offline

I am: You. (What's your name?)
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2234

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2017, 06:26:25 PM »

While I believe Jupiter is b/c of separate map code files... / Map's exit list not found ....
Tundaria is a different case... (It is the same file in both places)... In that case, map's exit list is found.... however, the exit is not (Exit 0xB is higher than how many the retreat room had...) So that one choose the map of the first entry. (Interesting/ assuming I read things right... was rather quick...) (Seems like the list detects entrance 0 as the end of a list of map exits.)

Exit data stops at 0x000001FF. (If you seen Atrius's topic, you'd know you can have multiple tables of these ending in that, but also multiple exit lists in one... erm... heheh.... )

080C9694 = Relevant function that scans the exit data... I probably should write up some psuedo-code, huh....?
« Last Edit: February 09, 2017, 06:52:53 PM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Isaac Isaac Isaac Isaac Mwahahaha!!!
Garet Aah! Get away from me Issac!
Isaac Why do you spell my name wrong?
Garet They said to add 's' if it's plural.
View Profile

Regular Member
**

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 91

« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2017, 06:51:53 PM »

Ah yup I get it now. Curious that some dungeons have map code files split and others not.
Logged
View Profile
Fox
(Your name), the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 17
Offline Offline

I am: You. (What's your name?)
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2234

« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2017, 07:20:29 PM »

My guess is that its probably for compression/spacing. Not 100% sure...

If you have all map's map code files separated.... it might be too bulky in the ROM.
If you hae all maps using the same map code file.. well, we're limited to only 0x8000 bytes in RAM for it, so then it wouldn't fit.
Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Isaac Isaac Isaac Isaac Mwahahaha!!!
Garet Aah! Get away from me Issac!
Isaac Why do you spell my name wrong?
Garet They said to add 's' if it's plural.
View Profile
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Today at 12:17:52 AM
Fox: (e.g. The process of reomving, replacing, adding, and/or moving around current ability effects to other index numbers.... ETC.)
Today at 12:15:33 AM
Fox: Or an Ability Effect editor, even.... But I imagine most of those would involve have patches applied to help with compatibility, and what not.?
Today at 12:10:36 AM
Fox: Hm. Oh! Did Atrius's Editor contain code from the April Fools version? Might be cool to have that, I'm guessing? - And yes, tools... even specific feature tools... Like an Intellect Editor, maybe.... If it was practical. (Not saying doable, but practical.)
Yesterday at 11:58:08 PM
Lord Squirtle: And yeah, "far less user-friendly" as an argument relies on the current lack of tools that could make using that easier.
Yesterday at 11:57:26 PM
Lord Squirtle: Since the GS editor is actually slower than using a hex editor is when it comes to classes, especially if you are mostly copying or tweaking existing classes to make full lines for them.
Yesterday at 11:56:18 PM
Lord Squirtle: Well I mean, it's the kind of effect that could easily be applied to a number of abilities if one wants. Having to open up a hex editor to use it for each of those abilities would take some time, and wouldn't really be as worthwhile as it can be for classes.
Yesterday at 11:50:27 PM
Fox: Far less user-friendly? Hm? I would say it depends on the tools/and such... For example, still haven't gotten my Exporter project done....
Yesterday at 10:07:39 PM
Lord Squirtle: But what I was thinking of doing with the unused effects was figuring out which ones are still available and combining them; averaging out the differences between each one so they make up for the ones that are missing.
Yesterday at 10:05:36 PM
Lord Squirtle: I may consider moving the effects to the end of the effect list, since I moved the pointer table and added some empty space on the end. My main concern with that is that it would be far less user friendly.
Yesterday at 08:06:20 PM
Fox: Heh... Starting to make me want to add the Ability Editor to my own Editor now... So I can do that, and have chance values listed for each and every one. (So it is more specific than Atrius's editor.)
Yesterday at 08:03:06 PM
Fox: Well, 0-255.
Yesterday at 08:02:53 PM
Fox: The max probably being 255.
Yesterday at 08:00:09 PM
Fox: (@Editor modification: In which case, I would recommend adding support up to the maximum number for future purposes.... if at all reasonably possible.)
Yesterday at 07:53:50 PM
Fox: @Disabling them: It kinda would be a trade-off for those who want to use those effects that went unused.... ...  I have a suggestion, though... and it might be rather interesting. But have you thought about using one of the unused flags to like... switch out Effect lists? (So you can have your own if you don't want to modify the editor.) I imagine it is rather unnecessary, though. Since it is easy enough to extend the list with a quick editor modification.
Yesterday at 04:46:01 PM
Lord Squirtle: And elements too from the looks of things.
Yesterday at 04:44:05 PM
Lord Squirtle: Makes me wonder how much work it would take to add more djinn slots.
Yesterday at 04:30:45 PM
Lord Squirtle: Well, total - 1.
Yesterday at 04:30:13 PM
Lord Squirtle: Huh, neat. I think I found the part of the djinn battle menu code that decides how many djinn of each element exist.
Yesterday at 02:53:07 PM
Lord Squirtle: I should probably look into disabling the multiplier chance for those now that I think about it.
Yesterday at 02:52:17 PM
Lord Squirtle: I still am, but mainly because it doesn't look like there are any abilities that use those effects.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.082 seconds with 22 queries.