Golden Sun Hacking Community
February 25, 2018, 09:34:10 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Error message  (Read 1313 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Drake baku
Aura Charge

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 45

« on: April 15, 2017, 05:59:34 AM »

Hello all, long time no see

a few weeks ago I started up on my old project, starting from scratch after having learned from past mistakes that corrupted the file beyond fixing (which was one of the reasons I stopped, having to take a break, not feeling like redoing it al again, but my own life also got in the way as time passed)

anyway, I have been working on my wife's old laptop at first, windows 10, outdated laptop in general
it worked perfectly, finally got all the classes to work as they should
but we both got a new laptop as mine old one pretty much died (it works but each time i shut down a program it loses files, data and such (broken harddrive)) and her old one was on its last straws (the editor being one of the few things it could still handle)

But here comes the problem
On my new laptop, also windows 10
Yesterday during editing I kept having an error message each time I wanted to change one of the images for items and psynergy's
but with the press of ignore it continued working, it just had issues with loading random images (being select-able and functional but just showing the image)
knowing the images by heart I could work with this, no problem

BUT, today it took a turn for the worst, No matter what I do, what compatibility mode I try and so on
I keep getting the same error, and this one does not allow the editor to work by pressing ignore....
all I can do is press abort

the error is

ERROR in
action number 1
of Trigger Event: Trigger0
for object obj_stresstest:

Error defining an external function.

does anyone here know what to do and what is causing this in the first place?
I doubt its a compatibility issue seeing my wife's old laptop, where it worked fine, and my current laptop are both windows 10
but at any rate, I am already getting sick of my new laptop like this and feel like I am forced to abort the project again all over (and seeing the list of projects I started but never got to finish due to being to large (mostly is with written projects) or technical issues like this, I really want to finish this one as its just getting longer and I am more and more getting annoyed at my bad luck with computers)
Logged
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1757

« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2017, 03:21:47 PM »

You might need the files I've attached to this post, put them in the same directory as the executable.  It's supposed to automatically extract them as needed, but if it's in a place where it can't create them that error could happen.

* GSdatahandler.dll (34.5 KB - downloaded 58 times.)
* language.ini (12.26 KB - downloaded 55 times.)
* scripting.ini (5.46 KB - downloaded 49 times.)
Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2407

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2017, 08:09:29 PM »

Quote
ERROR in
action number 1
of Trigger Event: Trigger0
for object obj_stresstest:

Error defining an external function.
If what Atrius doesn't work... then you could also try restarting / dunno... I get this type of error sometimes too ... seems rather random to me....


It is possible Atrius could be on to something, and maybe permissions are set up so that if accessed, other apps can't access it. ... Or rather, some glitch like that.... (No idea, though... Just a random hunch. I should look more into it if it ever comes up again.)
« Last Edit: April 15, 2017, 08:14:11 PM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Drake baku
Aura Charge

Novice Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 45

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 08:29:23 AM »

I see
Well for reasons beyond my understanding it starts up agaij just fine (well i changed its conpatibility again and thus i guess i got it right now)

Still have the errors for trying to look at item and psynergy images, but i can ignore those
Logged
View Profile
Claros Flamestrike
Of the Vibrant Life
Mars Clan

Living vibrantly since 1989.™

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: cringing so hard, I think my face is stuck like this forever. Thanks, 2011 version of me! >_< lmao
Posts: 105

« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2017, 03:07:12 AM »

Might be a necropost, but I'm having this issue upon every time I open it. I have never used it on this computer, (got it only recently), and it keeps throwing that error no matter what I do. Could it possibly be an issue with Windows 10? I'll futz around with permissions of usergroups, but I'm pretty sure the Editor and that entire folder has the rights all setup correctly. I'll repost here if I fix it with that. =O

EDIT 1: Just want to confirm that it does it on the Teawater version, too. Which makes sense, since I think it was made with the original Editor as a base.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2017, 03:21:31 AM by Claros Flamestrike » Logged
View Profile WWW
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
February 19, 2018, 09:50:20 PM
KyleRunner: "difficult thing about the army": I'm very good at taking orders, so I don't have issues with autority or discipline. The most difficult thing is to be away from my family sometimes. I lived an entire year away from my son, so I'd say that was the most hard part by far. Now it's great!
February 19, 2018, 05:51:35 AM
Fox: I'm happy to see we have plenty of people serving the country here. :)
February 19, 2018, 05:47:15 AM
Fox: Civilian here.
February 19, 2018, 03:05:38 AM
Majora: Good for you, something to be proud of. Air Force, here
February 19, 2018, 02:11:31 AM
Fox: That's good to hear... just checking if there were any possibility of doubt. What would you say was your most difficult thing about the army?
February 18, 2018, 12:39:38 PM
KyleRunner: Well, it was a destiny kinda thing, but I was very happy when I decided to join. It was just like I thought it would be (not in the beginning, though). I'm very pleased with my decision.
February 17, 2018, 11:32:41 PM
Fox: That's awesome!  Trying to figure what question I want to ask Something about how you felt when you made the decision to do the army, and whether it was different than your expectations/etc.
February 17, 2018, 01:53:41 PM
KyleRunner: Wow... My english got rusty. Anyway... I'm in the army now. My life turned 180. But I think it was for the best.
February 16, 2018, 12:45:45 AM
Fox: Hm? So where does that make you today?
February 16, 2018, 12:06:38 AM
KyleRunner: Five years ago I could not even imagine where I am today. I hope it works well for you too!
February 12, 2018, 07:22:50 PM
Fox: 2018 - The year that I will probably be working a manufacturing job. xP What would I have thought, if I told myself this five years ago. Eh?
January 28, 2018, 08:35:28 PM
Fox: You referring to changing the PC/leader sprite to someone else? - I forgot to mention that you can do this using VBA's memory viewer. (Found under Tools.)
January 28, 2018, 03:46:22 PM
shenlong: Hi, Im following up on @Raijinken's question about the sprite change... How do I access that to change it? and can you tell me what the values are for the characters? newbie here
January 26, 2018, 10:12:00 PM
roger: h a p p y  b i r t h d a y  z m a n
January 26, 2018, 01:38:04 AM
Fox: (Assuming you're going for "E")
January 26, 2018, 01:37:06 AM
Fox: So like... https://i.imgur.com/cI4Bgoy.png = Does not explain how it works, but follows this type of thinking.
January 25, 2018, 09:57:44 PM
Fox: Hm... Actually, this gives me an idea! What if the lighthouse becons on each lighthouse were actually portals?
January 25, 2018, 09:56:19 PM
Fox: Hard to explain without a diagram or something... but I could decide on that later. Right now, it turned out I dreamed of something! Something to do with going into the dark dimension... and to go between light and dark, required some energy (energy sphere/warp portal?) to be on... I forget most of the details of the dream now, but it's like you could get trapped in the dark world. Er...
January 25, 2018, 04:56:04 PM
KyleRunner: Can't understand... but... nice!
January 24, 2018, 06:20:33 AM
Fox: Third approach idea = Scan char tables and set up an array that helps to quickly jump over bits that are scanned in the char tables.... to kind of mimic an actual tree a bit better/ and reduce unnecessary scans.).... (untested, but what to know what it's speed is like.)

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.059 seconds with 23 queries.