Golden Sun Hacking Community
October 23, 2017, 09:58:23 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Editor crashes when trying to edit monster stats  (Read 589 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

New User


Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6

« on: July 31, 2017, 05:44:00 PM »

Hey all!

I'm using Version 0.4 and the editor keeps freezing whenever I'm trying to edit a monster's individual stats (not group!). I've tried deleting and re-installing the editor already to no avail (along with running it as an admin, changing compatibility settings, etc.)

Also, error messages like these keep popping up whenever I try to edit my party member's stats

ERROR in
action number 4
of End Step Event
for object obj_eParty:

Error in code at line 6:
   level=f_level.value
                 ^
at position 16: Unknown variable value

It seems as if some variables in the program aren't being declared or initialized correctly, but I don't know how to fix it. I'm running on Windows 10. And yes, I have GSdatahandler.dll, language.ini, and scripting.ini in my root folder with the actual editor itself.

Thanks guys!
Logged
View Profile
Salanewt
His Sexiness
Mercury Clan

Oh yeah, baby!

Prodigy
*

Coins: 32
Offline Offline

I am: A part of the organization of Cool Cats, but more of a dog person in reality.
Emblems: Have a nice day.
Posts: 4565

« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2017, 06:50:21 PM »

Huh! Silly question but have you tried restarting your computer?
Logged

Oh yeah baby, £ me harder.

Fusion is just a cheap tactic to make weak Adepts stronger.

Yoshi's Lighthouse is a hacking website in progress. Why not check it out if you like Yoshi or the Mario & Luigi games?
View Profile WWW

New User


Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2017, 09:26:55 PM »

Yeah, I've restarted my computer a few times already. The editor used to work fine a few months ago (still using Windows 10 at that time) but IDK why it refuses to work for me now.

My ROM file isn't corrupted because I can load it up just fine on VBA (Golden Sun and TLA both work perfectly fine).
Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2376

« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2017, 12:10:30 AM »

The most confusing errors are the ones that we don't know how to reproduce. And this seems like it might be one of them...

Umm.... Do older versions of the editor work? (0.2, 0.3, etc?)


P.S. = While I strongly doubt it, it'd be really funny if an anti-virus could cause similar errors. :P


http://gamedesign.wikidot.com/gamemaker:unknown-variable = Hmm... interesting. But probably does not have the answer? ....
« Last Edit: August 01, 2017, 12:30:37 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...
*Cross my fingers and hope we have Big Brother All-Stars next year... with Paulie & Cody Califorie(sp?)... and Vanessa & Tiffany Rousso.... Would be fun? :P Especially if one of the boys got evicted early since there's usually some all-guy alliance in there, right?
View Profile

New User


Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6

« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2017, 04:11:55 AM »

I've tried using the older versions too; one of the versions (don't remember which one b/c I deleted it already) immediately CTD when I load up a Golden Sun rom. The other older versions have the same exact problems I'm experiencing with Version 0.4.

Oddly enough, the April fools hex editor works just fine although I have no idea how to use it lol. I didn't even think about the anti-virus thing though (Thanks for pointing that out!), I'll go check it out and post an update later on today.
Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2376

« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2017, 04:58:24 AM »

If it wasn't the anti-virus (What anti-virus do you have, anyway?), another option you could look into is to see if you can install the game maker program (That the editor was made in) if you haven't, maybe it has some other things that get installed that make things work... But I've no idea? (It's doubtful, but it's always worth looking into every possibility.) -- (Not sure if it's like... something requiring an older version of something(?) where a newer version doesn't work?)

Also... I forgot to mention the newest version of Atrius's Editor was in the News & Announcements forum. 0.5 ... and is open-sourced. - (It is not the latest modified version since people like me may have modified it some in the past, but it is the latest official version by Atrius. ; For a while now, I do not have any current plans to work on Atrius's version since I wanted to work on my own version using C# for right now. :P  Not big on Game Maker, but it is good for micro-games and stuff, if anyone ever wants to make them.  Basically the length of games you may find on addictinggames, armorgames, etc.)
« Last Edit: August 01, 2017, 05:38:57 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...
*Cross my fingers and hope we have Big Brother All-Stars next year... with Paulie & Cody Califorie(sp?)... and Vanessa & Tiffany Rousso.... Would be fun? :P Especially if one of the boys got evicted early since there's usually some all-guy alliance in there, right?
View Profile

New User


Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6

« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2017, 08:13:10 PM »

Now I'm really confused - I allowed the app through windows firewall, and now I'm getting this error message upon startup (and the program hangs so I have to kill it via task manager)


___________________________________________
ERROR in
action number 1
of Trigger Event: Trigger0
for object obj_stresstest:

Error defining an external function.

I removed it from the app list, but it's still giving me this error. I'm going to delete V0.4 from my computer and take a look at V0.5. to see if it'll work for me. I'll look into downloading game maker and see if that'll fix anything or not.

EDIT - just installed version 0.5. the "error defining an external function" message doesn't pop up anymore, but i'm essentially back to square one since i'm still having trouble editing the enemy data.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2017, 08:19:11 PM by System_shock » Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2376

« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2017, 08:19:29 PM »

Now that's an error I recognize!

Which turns out to also be one I'm not sure how to replicate.

I think it usually has to do with not being able to access gsdatahandler.dll or whatever. (Can't say.) -  And I think this might be an error where sometimes a restart helps. (Unless I'm mistaken, and even then it is not a guarantee(?).)
Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...
*Cross my fingers and hope we have Big Brother All-Stars next year... with Paulie & Cody Califorie(sp?)... and Vanessa & Tiffany Rousso.... Would be fun? :P Especially if one of the boys got evicted early since there's usually some all-guy alliance in there, right?
View Profile

New User


Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6

« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2017, 06:36:47 AM »

Wednesday has been a really hectic day for me (not in a good way!), so I haven't had time to try out the game maker thing.

Funny enough, I didn't even bother trying to run the editor on another computer. I'll do both later on today and re-update.
Logged
View Profile

New User


Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6

« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2017, 07:53:41 AM »

Well what do you know - I installed the editor on my laptop yesterday (also runs on Windows 10) and, lo and behold, it works fine!

I'm still not sure what the bug is, but I'm glad I'm able to get the thing up and running now.
Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2376

« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2017, 08:32:11 AM »

That's nice to hear! It brings you one step closer to the solution.

Might I ask if it works when you log in through a different user?


Just in case anything in say...
C:\Users\Tea\AppData\ (aka: Windows key + R (Run) :  %appdata%)
and similar...
could have any effect.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2017, 09:20:26 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...
*Cross my fingers and hope we have Big Brother All-Stars next year... with Paulie & Cody Califorie(sp?)... and Vanessa & Tiffany Rousso.... Would be fun? :P Especially if one of the boys got evicted early since there's usually some all-guy alliance in there, right?
View Profile
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
October 16, 2017, 09:57:26 AM
AZVRE: Im pretty okay, what about you?
October 16, 2017, 01:17:14 AM
Fox: I think the nine is doing a cirno on me, though... Anyway, how is everyone doing today?
October 16, 2017, 01:12:20 AM
Fox: onesixtwo*
October 16, 2017, 01:12:00 AM
Fox: Okay... Meanwhile... ah... 162 being a number that has made itself known to me.... I look at the relationships of the numbers.... 162  1+6+2 = 9 ; onesizetwo = alphabetical order = 9 characters ; Distance apart analysis: os = 4 = 1[6][2] , st = 1 = [1]6[2] , ot = 5 = [1][6]2 ; ost = original sound track?
October 15, 2017, 06:31:17 PM
AZVRE: ah okay :D i thought i caused some trouble
October 14, 2017, 07:49:16 AM
Fox: Oh i know... You were messing with yours, and the description says mine. It's kind of a funny bug. :P
October 13, 2017, 08:18:31 PM
AZVRE: I did not edit your profile tho. Just to erase that confusion ^^"
October 12, 2017, 04:49:56 AM
Fox: e.g. this art = http://forum.goldensunhacking.net/Themes/Jupiter/images/catbg.gif (etc.)
October 12, 2017, 04:48:58 AM
Fox: I have a question: Where did the art for the headers come from? (Like the backgrounds to each of these things... "Affiliates", etc... Asking just incase it inspires me to do something... but if Charon made it, then that's cool too.
October 11, 2017, 04:23:02 AM
FoxWas thinking about having something for the editor anniversary, but I believe I had to change my mind....
October 10, 2017, 12:58:36 PM
Fox: That's alright. ;       @AZVRE's profile: "Current Activity:  Editing the profile of Fox." ...Eh... That looks weird.
October 07, 2017, 11:45:16 PM
Atrius: Sorry about that, the auto bot detection is still working, but it also requires an admin to visit the site regularly.
October 04, 2017, 04:17:40 AM
Fox: Yeah, it does bring a small amount of activity. Not good quality activity, but it's still activity, nonetheless.  Now if we can get them to randomly post pictures and vdeios!
October 04, 2017, 02:10:48 AM
Majora: If nothing else, I like how they're copying the content of real posts at random. Interesting to see how they adapt to seem more authentic
October 03, 2017, 08:29:38 PM
Fox: medico6601 = Most likely another bot. :(
September 26, 2017, 03:32:24 PM
Fox: by ten* Excuse me.
September 26, 2017, 03:32:12 PM
Fox: Oh yes... Also multiply all levels by two. (So actually, an adept will have levels of 54, 3, 2, and 1, rather than 5, 0, 0, 0.... if going by those.)
September 26, 2017, 03:29:07 PM
Fox: ...I mean the theory also saves space on the Status Screen.
September 26, 2017, 03:26:11 PM
Fox: Random/fun concept theory: What if we got rid of ePow/eRest, and just made eLevel do everything. :P (A process of cleaning stuff up... Though, could make things less versatile. - Like, if a Djinni add 1 eLevel = Okay, that's understood... by why specifically +5 on the ePow/eRes (Rhetorical))
September 23, 2017, 04:42:08 AM
Fox: Oh nevermind, it does... but I swear I saw that a minute ago.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.068 seconds with 22 queries.