Atrius: I'm trying to fix the site, but it might take a while.

It seems the SQL database had grown larger than our hosting company allows.
I've cleaned out all of the unnecessary log data to get it down to an
acceptable size, but haven't received a response as to why normal
functionality hasn't been restored yet.


 The Magic River
Golden Sun Hacking Community
July 19, 2018, 11:05:33 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: The Magic River  (Read 2408 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Regular Member
**

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 135

« on: October 05, 2017, 06:43:13 PM »

https://www.twitch.tv/videos/179942723

So this is a thing.

Frostfx made this convenient image to help explain the glitch: https://images-ext-1.discordapp.net/external/1t7y1yv3glyOzJNRFdQFPmDmP5OwcqooThpMibEnCCE/https/i.imgur.com/mo7Dg33.jpg
Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2411

« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2017, 12:06:52 AM »

Not exactly a "river," if going by the graphics, but that looks amazing!

Happy
Alex  Continental shelves are shifting!  And in an unexpected way, no kidding!

I feel like I want to call it The Magic Roundabout. (Referencing a UK cartoon, I think.) ... (And also secretly references something I was part of on RuneScape years ago. :P A clan I joined was named Skilling Central, and they changed their name to The Magic Roundabout, eventually, the clan "died", and owner moved on to another clan: The Round Table. (King Arthur reference, I assume.) I also followed, and that clan is still here today... Though, I haven't been on RS much lately.... I do want to eventually get back to it, but I was planning to hold off until AT LEAST the release of the bank rework. :/ )

---

Seems to be a 16-pixel margin? 0x1F00-0x1F0F

Map when not scaled is 0x2000px x 0x2000px, I think... but with the scaling, likely doubled... (Referring to current x and y location, since the top of the screen is shorter/bottom is longer.)... so 0x1F00 being right under the half way mark is interesting... (I feel like some rounding thing could be going on... like adding 1 when a number is negative, but I have no idea. Can probably look into it, though. Expecting it to be as simple as a breakpoint write on tilemap ram data. *crosses fingers*)


But first:  Going left/right with Map view open... (using auto-update).... And I'm not sure I understand this...  (Attachement... the column in the middle/at the bottom... when I walked left.) Did not need an encounter to see this... (But I imagine if it is the same as the glitch above.. then you probably would need one to "abuse" it?)
(Also see the same "flickering" on the left side when going right. (First column in map view.))

Almost forgot:  I should test it without messing up the flags... sso this is with messing up storybook flags.... in case it doesn't happen in cannon.


* otheraxisgltich.png (141.44 KB, 840x792 - viewed 277 times.)

* otheraxisgltich.png (245.23 KB, 1680x792 - viewed 272 times.)
« Last Edit: October 06, 2017, 01:12:09 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Atrius
Programmer Extraordinaire
Web Host

Fear my blades

Veteran Member
*

Coins: 1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Emblems: Website Founder
Clan Position: Creation God of Sol
Posts: 1758

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2017, 10:44:00 PM »

He's correct about the map being split up, but the sections are 256x256 pixels, or 16x16 tiles that are 16x16px.  I don't know what's happening with this glitch beyond that.


Edit:
FYI there's a full rip of TLA's world map as stored in the game data (except some tilesets are incorrect) available here (8192x8192px, 10.8MB)

I could understand why the graphical glitch might happen because of how the graphics rendering is optimized (see Fox's post above), but the fact that the collisions are incorrect too baffles me.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2017, 11:30:04 PM by Atrius » Logged

I'm shaking my head in general disapproval of everything
View Profile WWW
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2411

« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2017, 06:45:15 AM »

@FYI: That's cool, but a lot of those tiles are incorrect. (Since the tileset is switched.) ... Um? Not sure why the link sometimes doesn't work? Says it contains errors. Might be due to memory, though.

Anyway: From gsmagic (At least my version.):  ...  https://i.imgur.com/7zd1ibu.jpg (Prox/Mars Lighthouse area.... Gaia Falls... Snow areas... etc.)
Looks like I got some tiles wrong! (I lack water where it is needed.)  Thank you for posting that link!!
(I think I might know why.....) Fixed: https://i.imgur.com/mRzaKyi.jpg (And yes, some of the water tiles are snow in the second huge segment = That is correct. It'll look like water when you're off those tiles, though.)

I know there's a collision tileset (Just for World Map.),... so isn't the indexes that are used for graphics also used for that tileset too? So that would kind of make sense... However, I kind of forgot what I researched a long time ago, so....

World Map tilemap is pasted at 02020000. (Instead of 02010000 as normal maps do.) - 4 square maps are loaded at a time.
zzyyxxxx
zz = Can effect the tileset used.
yy = Event ID
xxxx = Graphical index , but also collision index?(Not confirmed?) (World Map only?) (May not necessarily be 16-bit, but for example...)


---
Update:  Been too lazy to put that breakpoint in. :/ (It's possible I may even have the function already documented, even if I don't have its contents documented.)
« Last Edit: October 08, 2017, 09:01:42 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile

Regular Member
**

Coins: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 135

« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2017, 08:49:37 PM »

Thanks for the map Atrius. Having explored that area using the first flight cutscene glitch its really cool to actually see what is there :)

But your map also reminded me that there is another point in the game where the overworld is updated - after you fix the boat and set Briggs free.

Getting an encounter with y-coordinate as indicated in the image will cause the bridge to un-fix itself (EDIT: its actually way more lenient, there's a large band of y values than work south of where I am standing). I can't see any other errors caused in this occurrence of the glitch. Of course, opening the menu and closing it again will fix the bridge - as illustrated in this gif: https://gyazo.com/01fe839247061ad159edd296e3fba40b

I guess then the next question is this - when Venus lighthouse is lit at the start of the game, are those cutscenes happening on the copy of gondowan far to the west of the world map? Or is it happening within the world map but having tiles updated?


* 6d010b3dbd81387d00350b3fc8b23162.png (280.36 KB, 722x486 - viewed 247 times.)
« Last Edit: October 13, 2017, 08:55:18 PM by Plexa » Logged
View Profile
Fox
Fox McCloud, the Hacking Doctor
Mercury Clan

Prodigy
*

Coins: 28
Offline Offline

I am: certainly not a Gallant!
Clan Position: Head Gallant
Posts: 2411

« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2017, 09:30:04 AM »

Attachment: An image showing where a flag check is done, and how two map sections (side by side) are copied over. (For the Contigo area.)

In map code initialization....

Arguments: srcx, srcy, desx, desy
No size values or anything, so the whole square (16x16 tiles) should be "copied" over...  By putting a file number in the 03001448 list.

Calls a function that hasn't really been documented, but is in an expected area.

0802BD08

r6 = 02032640 = screen x
r7 = src position
r12 = 02032648 = screen y

to be continued?

---
Not sure where glitch occurs yet, but I now at least have something about this function in my doc.


* copytiles.png (12.78 KB, 605x412 - viewed 240 times.)
« Last Edit: October 14, 2017, 11:25:15 AM by Fox » Logged

Golden Sun Docs: Broken Seal - The Lost Age - Dark Dawn | Mario Sports Docs: Mario Golf & Mario Tennis | Misc. Docs
Refer to Yoshi's Lighthouse for any M&L hacking needs...

Remember kids! Before you go on that interview, remember to wash your hands in teawater! *Coughs on hand* (Excuse me, I just coughed up a little teawater, so they're still clean!) You wouldn't want that hiring manager to be unimpressed.

May the force be with you!
Shoo! Why does it smell in here?
Maybe that's the wrong kind of force. *smirk*
View Profile
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Yesterday at 10:49:52 PM
roger: I can post but it goes to an error page when I submit.
Yesterday at 05:24:12 PM
zman9000: Site is back WOO!
May 09, 2018, 12:35:37 AM
KyleRunner: The "Start In" field is not editable... I'll try making new shortcuts
May 08, 2018, 09:51:08 PM
Fox: If all else fails, you canmake new Shortcuts to do the same thing.
May 08, 2018, 09:49:53 PM
Fox: Export Properties > Shortcut (Tab) > Target / Start In ; Target (for Export) should be: (filename) 0 , and for Import: (filename) 1
May 08, 2018, 08:52:00 PM
KyleRunner: I can't change the path in properties menu...
May 08, 2018, 01:27:19 AM
Fox: You may need to edit something in properties, though... so it uses the exe file in the same directory.
May 08, 2018, 01:24:59 AM
Fox: It is suppose to be a shortcut, yes.
May 03, 2018, 11:48:05 PM
KyleRunner: Fox, the "export" function in your text editor is just a shortcut... Could you please fix it?
May 02, 2018, 09:53:45 PM
KyleRunner: I come here everyday. I'm working on a Portuguese translation, and the people here help me a lot.
May 02, 2018, 08:56:07 AM
Drake baku: My feel as well, I posted a little as well since my return, but silence was all that followed... At least the forum is a great source for data when hacking GS/ GS2, currently looking for something I have read a long time ago cause my PP recovery psy is not working
May 01, 2018, 09:58:04 AM
Fox: I am thinking a lot of this might be because of Discord?
May 01, 2018, 09:56:08 AM
Fox: Yeah, this forum is more dead than ever before.  February and April have 0 new topics. (All other months prior have more.) And March has lowest number of new posts. (It'd be dumb to count the very first month this site was created.)
April 25, 2018, 09:02:13 PM
Fox: Yes. The best tool is a hex editor. Well.... VBA, VBA-SDL-H, no$gba Debugger, GBATEK, and my documentation.... to use these to learn how the code/data works. Best method because it maximizes your editing ability... and then there is my program gsmagic that I was working on. Still in its early stages, though. (Even after year(s).)
April 25, 2018, 04:21:58 PM
Xendrox D: *exept tla editor.
April 25, 2018, 04:21:29 PM
Xendrox D: is there any other tool for hacking gs?
April 23, 2018, 09:26:27 PM
Atrius: Rarely, but not never.
April 23, 2018, 08:01:48 AM
Drake baku: Can it be, the god who created the editor, atrius. I heard you never came back online here anymore
April 20, 2018, 02:46:36 PM
KyleRunner: Atrius!!
April 19, 2018, 11:29:46 PM
Atrius: @Fox, I tried, but for some reason Mario Golf won't boot, and Mario Tennis crashes when you patch out the text compression, and I'm not sure why...  The normal text loading functions in them are basically the same as the ones in the Golden Sun games.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.051 seconds with 29 queries.