Golden Sun Hacking Community
January 16, 2018, 01:43:12 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
  Home   Forum   DC Wiki Help Search Calendar Downloads Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Weapons  (Read 3756 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Zach
That guy that lives down the street
Mercury Clan

You ain't worth the time

Regular Member
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Not sure about what to do with myself <.<
Posts: 419

« on: May 30, 2009, 04:21:00 AM »

(Something you guys might know)

After fiddling with weapons, I found that there is a way to remove weapons from your inventory in battle. If you have a weapon set to use something, set it to single use, then use it in battle (and by use, I mean use it in battle like an item). The turn afterwards, it will be gone from your inventory and you will no longer have a weapon to use and will have to use your bare hands
Logged
View Profile
weckar
Guest
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2009, 09:58:00 AM »

Does 'bare hands' fighting actually work or does it freeze and glitch? What kind of damage (if any) does it do? I wish I had a ROM here to try that now :(
Logged
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2009, 01:22:00 PM »

Of course it doesn't freeze it.  Otherwise the 'nekkid adept' challenge couldn't be done.
Logged

View Profile WWW
weckar
Guest
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2009, 01:35:00 PM »

"Nekkid Adept"? never heard of that... sounds weird... does makes sense though, since not having a weapon is a definite possibility in the game, I guess I wasn't thinking :P
Logged
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2009, 01:50:00 PM »

"Nekkid Adept" challenge.  In this challenge, you NEVER USE EQUIPMENT.  EVER.
Logged

View Profile WWW
twocows
Guest
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2009, 07:50:00 PM »

"Nekkid Adept" challenge.  In this challenge, you NEVER USE EQUIPMENT.  EVER.
I'm attempting that + no protective magic next playthrough.

You should probably force the player to unequip whatever before removing it from the inventory, I'd think.
Logged
weckar
Guest
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2009, 10:04:00 PM »

I assume that doesn't include the trident then?
Logged
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2009, 11:25:00 PM »

I assume that doesn't include the trident then?
Can you equip the trident?  Yes?  Then DON'T DO IT.  And SELL IT as soon as you're done with it.

...You CAN sell it, right?
Logged

View Profile WWW
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2633

« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2009, 05:20:00 PM »

You have to equip the Trident in order to use it. And you cannot sell the Trident, though you can unequip it. It is permanently in your inventory for the rest of the game.
Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2009, 06:28:00 PM »

Huh, I see... Well, in that case, equip it only for that one fight you use it by the person who'd benefit from it the least.
Logged

View Profile WWW
JamietheFlameUser
Diamond Pokémon
Mars Clan

Does this look like the face of mercy?

Prodigy
*

Coins: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
I am: Poke poke poke poke... I can't stop it...
Posts: 2633

« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2009, 07:25:00 PM »

So only use it once to start the fight and never again, and equip it on Piers, who really doesn't need the extra water resist it gives. Or hack the game so that it's one use only, and then vanishes from your inventory. Problem is, you still need to put it on the fastest member, or else you're screwed. And Piers doesn't really fit that description.
Logged

:P

Lloyd: Easy as pie.
Genis: Sweet!
Presea: ...Sweetie pie...
Zelos: Let's not start on this again...

Spoiler for epic mindscrew:
View Profile
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2009, 08:08:00 PM »

You're not screwed.  Where did you get that idea?  Just have the others defend, or have piers' class changed to a faster class.
Logged

View Profile WWW
Salanewt
His Sexiness
Mercury Clan

Oh yeah, baby!

Prodigy
*

Coins: 32
Offline Offline

I am: A part of the organization of Cool Cats, but more of a dog person in reality.
Emblems: Have a nice day.
Posts: 4565

« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2009, 03:01:00 AM »

If you really want to get rid of the trident, then you could use gameshark codes to replace it with a herb, or a trident prong, so the actual trident remains unavailable again. Actually, maybe a Lighthouse Star would be more appropiate.

 Mercury Djinni Set  
Logged

Oh yeah baby, £ me harder.

Fusion is just a cheap tactic to make weak Adepts stronger.

Yoshi's Lighthouse is a hacking website in progress. Why not check it out if you like Yoshi or the Mario & Luigi games?
View Profile WWW
Salanewt
His Sexiness
Mercury Clan

Oh yeah, baby!

Prodigy
*

Coins: 32
Offline Offline

I am: A part of the organization of Cool Cats, but more of a dog person in reality.
Emblems: Have a nice day.
Posts: 4565

« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2009, 11:25:00 AM »

It makes sense, but there are some people (not myself) who would be tempted to use it. Also, what about the Shaman's staff? Isn't that equipped to Sheba, or am I mistaken?
Logged

Oh yeah baby, £ me harder.

Fusion is just a cheap tactic to make weak Adepts stronger.

Yoshi's Lighthouse is a hacking website in progress. Why not check it out if you like Yoshi or the Mario & Luigi games?
View Profile WWW
Rolina
The Fulminous Witch
Jupiter Clan

Template maker turned lurker

Alchemist
*

Coins: 10
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
I am: wondering if we can get our clan position changed...
Clan Position: Grand Overlady of Jupiter
Posts: 6051

« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2009, 11:33:00 AM »

Just.  Don't.  Use.  It.

If you're tempted, you suddenly need to realize that you're going through a challenge file.  You have to live up to the challenge after all.
Logged

View Profile WWW
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Cbox
Yesterday at 07:26:16 PM
Fox: (path) 1 text=(address) char=(address) free=(address) ; << Well, closer to this... but yeah... even if I do choose to have defaults in the code, I could still use this method for overrides.
Yesterday at 07:24:28 PM
Fox: So like (path) 0 text=(address) char=(address) len=(number) ; (path) 1 free=(address) ; Or something. But that's just a quick example.
Yesterday at 06:59:14 PM
Fox: Hopefully. I was wanting to make it so you could put in the addresses/etc. as one of the arguments in the path. Hm?
Yesterday at 03:37:07 PM
KyleRunner: Nice! I hope you'll add compatibility with others games (GS1, Mario Golf and Tennis) soon.
January 14, 2018, 11:40:09 PM
Fox: Okay. Posted (in Downloads section) an initial cutdown version for now, for my text compressor. Basically to separate the code from my Editor for anyone who wants to mess with it. It only supports GS2, because I still didn't add the addresses/etc. for the other games.
January 14, 2018, 05:01:00 PM
Fox: Okay! Going to need to think how I want it to work. Initial thoughts is maybe have a number of arguments in the filepath thing. And have a number of shortcuts (files) to be used as examples. Assuming there are no problems.
January 14, 2018, 10:38:24 AM
KyleRunner: Well... I'm used to editing text ina a text editor, so... yes! Thanks in advance!
January 13, 2018, 11:38:43 PM
Fox: (Text editor = Text Document like notepad.)
January 13, 2018, 11:38:21 PM
Fox: Would you prefer during the text editing in a text editor? (Like what gstoolkit lets you do?) I could probably make a separate tool or something to compress it.
January 13, 2018, 10:10:02 PM
KyleRunner: Ok. Once I finish my Lost Age translation, I'll try a Mario Golf one. Thanks. (But I'll need help).
January 13, 2018, 10:03:17 PM
Fox: If you want to make it "permanent" (part of a hack), then you'd edit code in the ROM that writes to this location of the IDs you'd want to change. (You can find these locations by using a breakpoint debugger like SDL-H or no$gba.)
January 13, 2018, 10:00:11 PM
Fox: Reload/switch = Recommended to be done through Debug mode/warp menu, ofcourse... since doors seem to appear as if they were disabled? ; 03001238:01 and B+Start to get to warp menu.
January 13, 2018, 09:55:39 PM
Fox: @Kyle Runner = It might be, but you'd have to use the correct addresses for Mario Golf, rather than for GS2 as I have it right now. ; @raijinken = Yes. 02000454 = ID of leader. (Change this and reload/switch room you are in, enjoy.)
January 13, 2018, 02:23:29 PM
raijinken: Hey guys, is it possible to somehow change the lead character on the map? Was wondering. I remember there was a cheat to use Jenna, but what if I wanted Isaac, or Piers?
January 13, 2018, 02:10:03 PM
KyleRunner: Hey, Fox *
January 13, 2018, 02:09:37 PM
KyleRunner: Hey, is your text editor compatible with Mario Golf (GBA)?
January 11, 2018, 08:33:13 PM
Fox: But if it isn't an oversight, I still can't imagine it being that useful.
January 11, 2018, 08:28:24 PM
Fox: part, ofcourse.
January 11, 2018, 08:28:15 PM
Fox: 0200274C = Hmm... Stuff happens here when you use Cyclone around bushes. (These cause tile replacements, and setting event 0 to those tiles.) - And I guess this kept here so it can be scanned after battle. (To re-update the map.) So here is my fun thought (assuming if it is even possible, or even convenient if so.) ... Are there any events from other maps that could be disabled do to using Cyclone on bushes + Retreat glitch? I'll need to do some testing to make sure this isn't an oversight on my
January 09, 2018, 08:09:26 PM
Fox: And the chance for a Djinni battle is 50%.

Affiliates
Temple of Kraden Golden Sunrise
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.054 seconds with 22 queries.